DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Maintain Their Run

27th November 2009 By Munster Rugby

Munster Maintain Their Run

A superb 74th minute try from replacement Ronan O’Mahony from a perfect cross field kick from another replacement out half Andrew Burke, helped Munster to an18-6 British & Irish Cup victory in front of a packed house at a superbly prepared Nenagh RFC this (Friday) evening

And if Munster might have rode their luck in the opening game against Coventry last week, there was not a doubt about the worthiness of a victory that owed much to the industry and invention of a side that grow in confidence with every minute they spend together.

Thanks to a steady scrum and a dominant line-out in which Ian Nagle and Dave Foley were on top for most of the contest Munster were provided with an excellent plaform with James Coughlan another who left nothing behind him on the night.

That pack was well marshalled by impressive scrum-half Conor Murray as coach  Anthony Foley highlighted afterwards. “I thought our pack were excellent, the scrum steady and jumpers and lifters working very well and they were well controlled by Conor at scrum-half. All in all we’d have to be well pleased with that performance.

“That’s a good Bristol side. There were a few ropey times particularly in the first half but the defence was superb, totally committed. Nine points from two outings ? If you’d offered us that at the start of this competition we’d have taken it.”

Munster led 8-3 at half-time thanks to  Declan Cusack penalty and try from prop Dave Kilcoyne. They added to that total three minutes after the restart when Danny Barnes scored wide on the right after a good line-out take by Dave Foley. Then in the closing stages O’Mahony ensured victory when he gathered Burke’s perfectly placed cross field kick. 

Munster: Danny Riordan (Paul Rowley 78th min); Danny Barnes, Tom Gleeson, Scott Deasy, Simon Zebo (Ronan O’Mahony 64 min); Declan Cusack (Andrew Burke 52nd min), Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne ( Pa O’Regan (65 min) , Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Ian Nagle, Dave Foley; Billy Holland (Nick Williams 60 min), Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan capt. Replacements not used: Sean Henry, Peter O’Mahony,  

Bristol Rugby: Jack Tovey, Lee Robinson, Luke Eves, Sam Giddens, George Watkins, Chris Ashwin, Sam Alford, Mark Irish, Ross Johnston, Mako Vunipola, Ben Glynn, Josh Brown, Nathan Budgett capt, James Merriman, Darren Barry. Replacements: Ollie Hayes, Wayne Thompson, Marko Mama, Adam Bellamy, Robbie Shaw, Mark Davies, Jack Gadd.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster came from behind to carve out a bonus point win at Loftus Versfeld in this BKT United Rugby Championship encounter. Munster led 17-10 at...