DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Coughlan Leads The A’s in Clonmel RFC.

14th October 2009 By Munster Rugby

Coughlan Leads The A’s in Clonmel RFC.

James Coughlan will lead a strong Munster A side when they take on Leinster at Clonmel Rugby Football Club on Friday evening.

The Munster backline shows just one change fron the one that played in the 28-11 defeat of Ulster at Shaws Bridge last month with Ian Dowling’s promotion to the Heineken Cup squad making way for Ronan O’Mahony.

Up front there are changes aplenty with Dave Kilcoyne – in in place of Dave Ryan – alongside Mike Sherry and Stephen Archer.

Ian Nagle is absent through injury so Dave Foley’s second row partner is dependant on who is left of out of the Heineken Cup match day squad.

Try scorer and captain at Shaws Bridge Billy Holland remains in the backrow joined by Tommy O’Donnell and skipper, the experienced  Coughlan. 

Coach Anthony Foley gave his side a run out yesterdayin UL and afterwards expressed his satisfaction at where his squad were at right now.

“I’d be very pleased with the strength of the side, obviously mixing the Academy players with Developmenmt and Contracted.” he said.

“We’re coming off a good first outing against Ulster and we see see these games as really good preparation for the upcoming British & Irish Cup that kicks off in November. Our objective is to build a side, build a culture that hasn’t been there before and go into that competition with a degree of confidence.”

Assisted by Ian Costello, Foley was quick to enlist former Munster captain Mick Galwey as his match day team manager  and it looks to have been a shrewd move by the man who is something of a legend himself with 201 Munster caps to his credit.

” Gallimh was keen to get back on board and we were delighted to have him involved. The players too. He’s a massive figure to them. He has a great manner around the squad. Very positive influence.”

It sounds that if Galwey isn’t careful, he could end up a legend as well !

Munster. Danny Riordan; Ronan O’Mahony, Tom Gleeson, Scott Deasy, Danny Barnes; Declan Cusack, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Dave Foley, AN Other; Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan capt. Replacements: Sean Henry,Pa O’Regan, Kieran Essex, Peter O’Mahony, Paul Rowley, Andrew Burke, Simon Zebo.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

At this evening's Rugby Players Ireland awards, Keith Earls was named as the Zurich Contribution to Irish Society Award winner and Craig Casey's try against...