DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Saints Edge It

10th October 2009 By Munster Rugby

Saints Edge It

Shane Geraghty kicked a 74th minute penalty to give Northampton Saints a 31-27 win

 Munster came back from the dead trailing 28-14 after Chris Ashton scored his second try in the 45th minute. Ronan O’Gara kicked two penalties and converted superbly Tomas O’Leary’s 67th minute try.

The sides were level 14-14 in injury time when the home side were awarded a penalty. Fully expecting Shane Geraghty to kick his points Munster turned their backs but the out-half took a quick tap to catch them napping and earn a seven point cushion.

Geraghty and Ronan O’Gara had each kicked two penalties and both had failed to convert the tries of Chris Ashton and David Wallace. Munster’s other points came from a stunning Paul Warwick penalty from 45 metres that opened the scoring for his side in the 16th minute.

Munster: Paul Warwick; Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi (Ian Dowling 60 min), Jean de Villiers, Keith Earls; Ronan O’Gara, Tomas O’Leary; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, Tony Buckley (Julien Brugnaut 66 min); Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell capt; Alan Quinlan Donncha Ryan 64 min), David Wallace, Denis Leamy. Replacements not used: Denis Fogarty, , Darragh Hurley, Mick O’Driscoll, Niall Ronan, Peter Stringer.

Northampton Saints: Ben Foden; Chris Ashton, Jon Clarke, James Downey; Bruce Reihana, Shane Geraghty; Lee Dickson, Soane Tongauiha, Dylan Hartley, Santiago Bonorino; Courtney Lawes, Juandre Kruger; Phil Dowson, Neil Best, Roger Wilson. Replacements: Brett Sharman, Regardt Dreyer, Brian Mujati, Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe, Mark Easter, Alan Dickens, Steve Myler, Chris Mayor.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU