DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Name Squad

20th March 2008 By Munster Rugby

Munster Name Squad

Munster have announced a 26 strong squad for the Magners .League clash with Ulster at Musgrave Park on Saturday

Munster have announced a 26 strong squad for the Magners .League clash with Ulster at Musgrave Park on Saturday

It includes senior internationals Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer, Marcus Horan, Tony Buckley, John Hayes, Donncha O’Callaghan Paul O’Connell and Mick O’Driscoll who were all involved in the final RBS Six Nations game against England. Also included is Jerry Flannery who returnd to Munster senior action for the first time since the Heineken Cup game against Wasps.

Flannery did have a run out with the Munster A side last week and was particularly prominent when Munster had their final run out ahead of Saturday’s game, at training in Garryowen today.

Meanwhile Ulster Coach Matt Williams named a 22 man squad for the sold-out Musgrave Park game with Williams making full use of his returning International players, hooker Rory Best returning to captain a suad that includes Tommy Bowe, Paddy Wallace and Andrew Trimble .

Italian lock Carlo Del Fava is named having recovered well from a knee injury he picked up during Italy’s victory over Scotland in the Six Nations. Also hoping to return from injury will be Rob Dewey who has been out with a knee injury for a number of weeks. Fellow Scottish international Simon Danielli is not named in the squad following his ankle injury on Saturday and is currently being assessed by the Ulster Rugby medical team.

Munster Squad: D Hurley, S Payne, B Carney, I Dowling, D Howlett, K Lewis, R Tipoki, L Mafi, P Warwick, R O?Gara, T O?Leary, P Stringer, M Horan, T Buckley, F Sheahan, J Flannery, J Hayes, D O?Callaghan, P O?Connell, M O?Driscoll, D Ryan, A Quinlan, N Ronan, J Coughlan, J O?Sullivan, A Foley.

Ulster Squad
Backs: Isaac Boss; Rob Dewey, Mark McCrea, Paul Marshall, Niall O’Connor, Mark Bartholomeusz, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble, Tommy Bowe, Bryn Cunningham.
Forwards: Justin Fitzpatrick; Rory Best (Capt),Tom Court, Ryan Caldwell, Carlo Del Fava, Neil Best, David Pollock, Stephen Ferris, Nigel Brady, Bryan Young, Justin Harrison, Matt McCullough.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU