DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

UCC Women Aim for League Title

29th February 2008 By Munster Rugby

UCC Women Aim for League Title

UCC take on the Garda College in the Mardyke on Wednesday next in the final of the Women’s Division One College League

This is the second time in the history of UCC that the ladies have reached the final stages of the College League.  The last time, 2003, UCC were victorious in bringing home the first piece of silverware for the college. Next week, the intention will no doubt be the same.

UCC started their campaign back in November beating NUIG 20-15, and continuing this winning streak when they had a comprehensive victory over DCU in the Farm winning 34-5.  Their unbeaten record was further extended when they played UL in December, winning 28-12.  It truly was the best finish to 2007 for UCC ladies as they remained top of the table, with two matches left to play.

The New Year brought change; the ladies met the only team of the season to take the record from them when they lost 8-0 to the Tipperary side- Garda College.  Disappointing to say the least, so, when it came to securing a place in the final, UCC did so with conviction as they celebrated a 38-15 victory over WIT and a place in the final where they will be representing Cork.  UCC will face the Garda College in the final next week, who are the only team to have beaten them in the league.

The Final will take place in the Mardyke Arena on Wednesday (5th March) next at 2pm.

It promises to be a superb final, with displays of skill and talent from both sides so please support your local team!

The team for next Wednesday has not been announced as of yet. For more information see www.uccrugby.ie

Squad: J. Arnott, S. Auhney, J. Barry, L. Barry, F. Baynes, C. Connery, A. Deasy, L. Dolan, R. Doran, S. Dore, R. Fahy, A. Feirtear, S. Hogan, T. Jaywardene, L. Jordan, E. Langley, E. Lyons, T. Moore, S. O’Connor, S. O’Laughlin, J. O’Rehilley, S. O’Sullivan, C. Rigney, C. Sheridan, A. Smyth

Coaches: Aaron Stanley along with Declan Foy and Clare Rigney



DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Nine players will join the Munster Rugby senior squad this summer with four new additions and five players stepping up from the Academy. Thaakir Abrahams,...