DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Foley and Carney Back for Munster

6th December 2007 By Munster Rugby

Foley and Carney Back for Munster

Ronan O’Gara, winning his 138th cap, will captain a Munster side that sees Anthony Foley return to the number 8th berth for Saturday’s round three Heineken Cup clash with Llanelli Scarlets at Stradey Park

It will be Foley’s first Heineken Cup start this season having won his 81st (HC) cap last time against Clermont Auvergne at Thomond Park as a second half replacement. With Foley anchoring the scrum, Denis Leamy moves to blindside wing-forward and Donnacha Ryan is named on the bench.

The only other change from the side that started against Leinster last time out sees Brian Carney return to the right wing while Kieran Lewis who occupied that berth is also listed among the replacements.

Munster: S Payne; B Carney, R Tipoki, L Mafi, I Dowling; R O’Gara capt, P Stringer; M Horan, J Flannery, J Hayes; D O’Callaghan, M O’Driscoll;  D Leamy, D Wallace, A Foley.  Replacements: F Sheahan, T Buckley, D Ryan, J Coughlan, G Hurley, P Warwick, K Lewis.

Llanelli Scarlets: Morgan Stoddart; Mark Jones, Regan King, Gavin Evans, Nathan Brew; Stephen Jones, Dwayne Peel; Iestyn Thomas,  James Hayter, Deacon Manu; Adam Eustace, Scott Macleod; Simon Easterby (c ), Gavin Thomas, Dafydd Jones. Replacements: Daniel George, Bruce Douglas, Vernon Cooper, Alix Popham,  Gavin Cattle, Rhys Priestland, Jonathan Davies.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

See highlights and the best pics from our bonus-point URC win over the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. Shane Daly, RG Snyman, John Hodnett...