DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

IRFU U21 Interprovincial Championship

24th September 2005 By Munster Rugby

IRFU U21 Interprovincial Championship

Despite beating Leinster last week in the pool stage of the U21 Interprovincial Championship, Munster were unable to deny Leinster a 21-10 victory in the final in Athlone on Saturday.


Having played each other in the pool stages of the IRFU U21 Interprovincial Championship last week at Rosbrien, both teams certainly had a good idea of what to expect coming into the final in Athlone on Saturday night, and were prepared for another tough encounter. In miserable weather conditions, this time it was Leinster who emerged on top, denying Munster the title, with Leinster centre Conor Donohue notching up two tries.

Leinster put down a marker just five minutes into the game, with Dublin University centre Donohue scoring in the corner and Jonathon Sexton converting. Munster responded with a try from UCC/CIT winger Eric Moloney, to leave the score line 7-5. Despite being camped on the Leinster line for much of the first half, Munster were unable to add to their points tally, with Leinster edging further away with a second try from Donohue. Sexton converted to give Leinster a 14-5 lead at half time.

Leinster added to the tally after the break with a try from No. 8 Sean O’ Brien, which Sexton converted. Munster outhalf Conan Doyle replied with a try, but it wasn t enough to close the gap. Leinster held on to claim the victory and the U21 Interprovincial title. For Munster, it was certainly disappointing given the performances to date. Despite having the lion s share of possession, Munster were unable to convert this into all important points on the board. Conversely, Leinster capitalised on their opportunities and it paid off.

Up to the final, Munster U21 s had a 100% record in the competition this year, beating Ulster away in their opening game on a 17-5 score line. Munster defeated Connacht 16-5 at the Sportsgrounds on September 9th, before meeting Leinster on September 16th.

Manager Donal Brennan said Things just didn t go right for us on the night, but we have had a tremendous run in the competition this year, with some fantastic young talent really showing what they are made of. Hopefully many of them will go onto to bigger and better things in their rugby career.



Friday 2nd September 2005- ULSTER 5 MUNSTER 17 (Ravenhill)

Friday 9th September 2005- CONNACHT 5 MUNSTER 16 (Sportsgrounds)

Friday 16th September 2005- MUNSTER 21 LEINSTER 19 (Rosbrien)



15. Ian Hanley (UL Bohemian), 14. Eric Moloney (UCC/CIT), 13. Tom Gleeson (UCC), 12. Evan Ryan (UCC), 11. Ed Mills (Dolphin/CIT), 10. Conan Doyle (Garryowen), 9. Duncan Williams (UCC/CIT), 1. Darragh Hurley (UCC/CIT), 2. Batt Duggan (UCC/CIT), 3. Dave Ryan (Highfield/CIT), 4. Mike O Hea (Clonakilty), 5. Chris Kenefick (UCC), 6. Billy Holland (UCC) (Captain), 7. Michael Essex (UCC/CIT), 8. David Sherry (Garryowen)


16. Cathal Parkes (UL Bohemian) for Duggan, 17. Richie Feeney (UL Bohemian) for Hurley, Barry O Mahoney (Crescent College Comprehensive) for Ryan

Not Used: Sam Cronin (PBC), Alistar Ross (Cork Constitution), Gary O Keeffe (Dolphin), Niall O Brien (Shannon)

Management Team:

Coach: Geoff Moylan.

Assistant Coaches: David O Mahony, Paul Cunningham

Manager: Donal Brennan

Technical Advisor: Ian Costello

Physiotherapist: John Casey

Fitness Advisors: Colin Buckley and Ray Egan

Kit Man: Martin Joyce


15. Fionn Carr (Blackrock College), 14. Kevin Barden (Old Belvedere), 13. Fergus Mc Fadden (U.C.D.), 12. Conor Donohoe (Dublin University, 11. Shane Hanratty (Dublin University), 10. Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary s College), 9. Matthew D Arcy (Dublin University), 1. Killian O’Neill ( Dublin University), 2. Gavin O’Meara (Lansdowne), 3. Paul Doran Jones (Dublin University), 4. Darren O’Reilly (Dublin University), 5. Devon Toner (Lansdowne), 6. Luke Mantle (Greystones), 7. Diarmuid Laffan (Dublin University) (Captain), 8. Sean O Brien (U.C.D.)


Kieran Moloney (Blackrock College), Cian Culleton (Dublin University), Cian O Sullivan (Greystones), Derry Coughlan (Lansdowne), Adrian Lightowler (Greystones), Ron Boucher, Andrew Geraghty (Lansdowne)

Management Team:

Coach: Greg Lynch

Assistant Coach: David Lynagh

Manager: Philip Orr

Physiotherapist: James Allen

Doctor: Dr. Paul O Neill


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The full United Rugby Championship schedule for the 2024/25 campaign are now available thanks to the first-ever in-season launch of the following seasons’ fixtures. As...