DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Junior Team to Play Leinster Announced

25th August 2005 By Munster Rugby

Munster Junior Team to Play Leinster Announced

The Munster Junior team to play Leinster in the Junior Interprovincial game on Saturday has been announced

The Munster Junior team play their opening match in the Interprovincial Series on Saturday next against Leinster at the Garda Club in Dublin in what promises to be a tough first round. Munster will be hoping for a repeat of last year s performance in the Series, having beaten Leinster in Bandon RFC.

The Munster Junior team this year is a new look squad, with a large number of players making their debut in the competition. The promotion of Nenagh Ormond to Senior status at the end of last year has paved the way for a number of new players to make their mark. Fourteen of the twenty two players named for Saturday s game are new to the squad this year. In all, eleven clubs throughout Munster are represented in the squad, with four players each from Cashel and Kilfeacle & District, three from Cobh Pirates, two each from Youghal, Thurles and Old Christians and one player each from Bandon, Ennis, St. Mary s, Crosshaven and Kinsale. Training since the end of July in Mallow RFC, the squad have played warm up matches against Nenagh Ormond and Thomond. Following the Leinster game, Munster will play Ulster in Dungarvan on September 3rd. The final game is against Connacht on September 10th in Kinsale.

The squad is coached by the vastly experienced Kevin O Dwyer from Thurles, who has been at the helm for over a decade, with Bandon s Ricky O Sullivan assisting. The selection team consists of Chairman Liam Lehane from Ballincollig RFC, Christy McNamara from St. Mary s RFC and Tony Daley from Kanturk.

Chairman of the Selectors, Liam Lehane says although we have lost a number of players this year due to Nenagh Ormond s promotion, it s a fantastic opportunity for other players coming through to step up to the mark and make an impression. We are very excited about some of the new young talent on display and look forward to the Interprovincial Series.

Munster Junior Team v Leinster

15. Trevor Breen (Cashel), 14. Jamie English (Kilfeacle & District), 13. Robbie Doyle (Youghal), 12. Diarmuid O Connor (Cashel), 11. Roddy Jefferson (Cobh Pirates), 10. Brendan Ronan (Cobh Pirates), 9. Colm Murphy (Ennis), 1. Roy McArdle (Youghal), 2. Timmy O Callaghan (Bandon), 3. Toss Stapleton (Thurles), 4. Fergal McCormack (Old Christians), 5. Mark Shorley (Thurles), 6. Edmond Leamy (Cashel), 7. Pierce Breen (Kilfeacle & District), 8. Jack O Sullivan (Kilfeacle & District)

Replacements: 16. Paul McGrath (Old Christians), 17. Eugene Payne (St. Mary s), 18. Paul Memery (Crosshaven), 19. Shane Flavin (Kilfeacle & District), 20. Ollie McGlinchey (Cashel), 21. Colm McCarthy (Kinsale), 22. Eamonn Ronan (Cobh Pirates)


Saturday 27th August 2005

LEINSTER v MUNSTER, Garda Club, Dublin, 3pm

Saturday 3rd September 2005

MUNSTER v ULSTER, Dungarvan RFC, 2.30pm

Saturday 10th September 2005

MUNSTER v CONNACHT, Kinsale RFC, 2.30pm


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...