DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Winning Start To SEAT Series

August 24, 2013 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Winning Start To SEAT Series

Munster got their SEAT Series off to a winning start at a damp Thomond Park today with a 28-17 victory over Gloucester.

With 33 different players getting a run out it was an impressive performance from the home team facing a strong Gloucester side, which included English internationals, Mike Tindall and James Simpson-Daniel.

The game got off to a patchy start, with the weather conditions leading to a number of handling errors from both sides.
Munster had the best of the opening exchanges with Johne Murphy crossing for a try on 7 minutes only to see it disallowed for a forward pass.

Once the game settled into a rhythm, Casey Laulala began to pull the strings in the centre of the field creating a number of breaks, the best of which fell to Andrew Conway who scored a try on his debut.

This was in response to Gloucester's opening try taken by Jimmy Cowan after 17 minutes.

Munster's second try of the half came off a well worked move from the lineout with Williams popping to Dineen breaking through the centre finding Laulala on his shoulder who created a wide pass out to Denis Hurley leaving him dive over the line.

Keatley added his second conversion to give a half-time score of 14-5.

Gloucester reduced the margin with a Steph Reynold trys early in the second half before replacement outhalf JJ Hanrahan finished off an attacking phase with a try under the posts making it easy for his own conversion.

CJ Stander added Munster's fourth and final try and he was one of a number of bodies diving over the line with the pack applying the pressure.

With a raft of changes and a completely different side to the starting XV Munster's younger stars and club players impressed for the closing stages.

The visitors finished with a converted Koree Britton try to give a final score of 28-17 to Munster.

Munster: Denis Hurley (Mike Kelleher 60); Andrew Conway (R O'Mahony 25), Casey Laulala (Cian Bohane H/T), Ivan Dineen (Niall Kenneally 62), Johne Murphy (Johnny Holland 54); Ian Keatley (JJ Hanrahan H/T), Duncan Williams (Cathal Sheridan H/T); James Cronin (Stephen Archer 60), Mike Sherry (Duncan Casey H/T (Niall Scannell 60)), John Ryan (Paddy Ryan H/T (Alan Cotter 60)); Donncha O’Callaghan (Ian Nagle H/T), Billy Holland (Dave Foley H/T); CJ Stander (Shane Buckley H/T (Danny Kenny 65)), Niall Ronan (Barry O'Mahony 54), James Coughlan (CJ Stander 48 (Willie Ryan 65)).

Referee: Alain Rolland

A Conway 1 Try

D Hurley 1 Try

I Keatley 2 Conversions

JJ Hanrahan 1 Try, 2 Conversions

CJ Stander 1 Try

J Cowan 1 Try

S Reynolds 1 Try

K Britton 1 Try

B Burns 1 Conversion

Denis Hurley; Andrew Conway, Casey Laulala , Ivan Dineen, Johne Murphy; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, John Ryan; Donncha O’Callaghan, Billy Holland; CJ Stander, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan.

Replacements from: Niall Scannell, Duncan Casey, Alan Cotter, Stephen Archer, Paddy Ryan, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Danny Kenny, Willie Ryan, Shane Buckley, Barry O’Mahony, Cathal Sheridan, JJ Hanrahan, Johnny Holland, Cian Bohane, Mike Kelleher, Niall Kenneally, Ronan O’Mahony.

Steph Reynolds; Charlie Sharples, Tim Molenaar, Ryan Mills, James Simpson-Daniel; Jonny Bentley, Jimmy Cowan; Dan Murphy, Dan George, Yann Thomas; Elliott Stooke, Will James; Matt Cox, Andy Hazell (capt), Gareth Evans

Replacements: James Gibbons, Koree Britton, Rupert Harden, Lua Lokotui, Tom Savage, Sione Kalamafoni, Dan Robson, Billy Burns, Mike Tindall, Drew Cheshire