DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Winning Start To B&I Cup

October 12, 2013 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Winning Start To B&I Cup

The Munster A squad recorded a comprehensive 39-8 victory against Stirling County in Bandon RFC today thanks to a six try haul that included tries from Sean Dougall, Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Billy Holland and Ronan O’Mahony.

The Peter Malone coached side opened with a try in the second minute after Cian Bohane broke through the Stirling defence and offloaded to Sean Dougall who scored under the posts for the first score of the evening. Rory Scannell added the extras.

Minutes later the visitors were awarded a penalty when Captain Cathal Sheridan played the ball in an off-side position from the scrum and Stirling's out-half Stuart Edwards stepped up to take the points.

Rory Scannell was on target with his first penalty chance 10 minutes later and Munster A led by seven once more.

Then fullback Ronan O'Mahony set Andrew Conway off with a great kick and follow up chase from the flying winger to touch down just before the dead ball line, and with Scannell's conversion Munster were ahead 17-3.

Darren Sweetnam completed the first half scoring with a great individual effort that finished with him crossing the line.

The fourth try came from Billy Holland two minutes into the second half and after Rory slotted the extras Munster led 29-3 in Bandon, before the visitors replied with their own try after claiming the re-start Robbie Hogg completed the move in left hand corner.

Twenty minutes later Dave O'Callaghan made a superb break from the half-way mark and carried just short of the posts where the referee deemed the ball held up. The resulting scrum and attack ended with Ronan O'Mahony darting over the line.

O'Mahony followed up with his second try and the final score of the game five minutes later after Ivan Dineen claimed the turnover ball and made the yards to find O'Mahony outside him in support.

Munster A: Ronan O’Mahony; Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen, Cian Bohane (Niall Kenneally 57), Darren Sweetnam; Rory Scannell (Gearoid Lyons 73), Cathal Sheridan Capt. (Brian Haugh 66); Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell (Max Abbott 75), Paddy Ryan (John Ryan H/T); Billy Holland, Dave Foley (Darren O'Shea 53); Dave O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall (Barry O'Mahony 62), Shane Buckley. Replacements: Max Abbott, John Ryan, Darren O’Shea, Barry O’Mahony, Brian Haugh, Gearoid Lyons, Niall Kenneally.

S Dougall 1 Try

R Scannell 3 Conversions; 1 Penalty

A Conway 1 Try

D Sweetnam 1 Try

B Holland 1 Try

R O'Mahony 2 Tries

S Edwards 1 Penalty

R Hogg 1 Try

Ronan O’Mahony; Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen, Cian Bohane, Darren Sweetnam; Rory Scannell, Cathal Sheridan Capt.; Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell, Paddy Ryan; Billy Holland, Dave Foley; Dave O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall, Shane Buckley. Replacements: Max Abbott, John Ryan, Darren O’Shea, Barry O’Mahony, Brian Haugh, Gearoid Lyons, Niall Kenneally.
No information available