DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Report | Munster Lose Try-Fest In Galway

September 21, 2019 5:24 pm By The Editor

Liam O’Connor offloads to Alby Mathewson for Munster

Liam O’Connor offloads to Alby Mathewson for Munster's fourth try. Inpho

Munster competed the pre-season programme with a 40-31 loss to Connacht at the Sportsground as Rory Scannell, Shane Daly (two), Rhys Marshall and Alby Mathewson touched down.

Academy players Alan Tynan and Jonathan Wren made their senior debuts in the clash with eight Academy debuts over the past two weekends.

The Guinness PRO14 kicks off next weekend as Munster host Dragons at Thomond Park on Saturday at 3pm. See ticket details here.

A late change to the Munster side announced on Friday saw Darren Sweetnam drop out as a precaution with Liam Coombes slotting into the starting XV on the wing.

Munster trailed 7-5 at the interval as a converted Caolin Blade try gave Connacht the lead before 13-man Munster hit back through Rory Scannell.

Munster had been reduced to 14 when James Cronin was sin-binned for offside after an accumulation of Munster penalties. Darren O’Shea then slipped into Jarrad Butler as he collected a restart and also saw yellow.

Scannell’s try was set up by a fantastic Kevin O’Byrne break and show-and-go with Nick McCarthy also contributing to the score.

A quick-fire Connacht double at the start of the second half gave Connacht a 21-5 lead before Daly crossed for his first try after picking a good line and taking Tyler Bleyendaal’s pass.

Marmion and Peter Robb hit back with a try apiece before Munster crossed through Rhys Marshall’s score off a rolling maul.

Liam O’Connor’s superb offload set up Mathewson for Munster’s fourth try to get Munster back in the hunt but Marmion scored his second to put the result beyond doubt.

Munster kept going and Daly crossed for his second try in the last play with Bleyendaal adding his third conversion.

31 Munster players featured in the clash with the Guinness PRO14 kicking off next Saturday.

Guinness PRO14 Opener

Saturday, September 28

Munster v Dragons, Thomond Park, 3pm; Buy tickets here







Connacht: Tiernan O’Halloran; Stephen Fitzgerald, Kyle Godwin, Tom Farrell, Matt Healy; Conor Fitzgerald, Caolin Blade; Paddy McAllister, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham; Gavin Thornbury, Quinn Roux; Eoghan Masterson, Colby Fainga’a, Jarrad Butler (C).

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Denis Buckley, Dominic Robertson McCoy, Ultan Dillane, Eoin McKeon, Kieran Marmion, Conor Dean, John Porch, Paul Boyle, Peter Robb.

Munster: Mike Haley; Liam Coombes, Alex McHenry, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Nick McCarthy; James Cronin, Kevin O’Byrne, Keynan Knox; Darren O’Shea, Fineen Wycherley; Arno Botha, Tommy O’Donnell (C), Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements (all used): Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, Seán O’Connor, Gavin Coombes, Paddy Butler, Conor Oliver, Jack O’Sullivan, Alby Mathewson, Neil Cronin, Jack Stafford, Tyler Bleyendaal, Jonathan Wren, Alan Tynan.