DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Report | Munster A Defeated In Belfast

December 12, 2020 7:45 pm By The Editor

Darren Sweetnam scores against Ulster A.

Darren Sweetnam scores against Ulster A. Inpho

Munster A fell to a 22-10 defeat to Ulster A at the Kingspan Stadium on Saturday evening with Darren Sweetnam scoring the only Munster try and Jake Flannery adding five points off the tee.

A mix of senior, Greencore Munster Rugby Academy and club players featured for Munster A with an extended panel of 27 players getting some much-needed game time.

Strong Munster defence early on kept Ulster at bay as the hosts started on the front foot.

The first score was Munster’s as speedy winger Liam Coombes made a break down the left wing and released full-back Sweetnam to finish under the Ulster posts. Out-half Jake Flannery added the conversion to put Munster 7-0 ahead.

Liam Coombes set up the Munster try.

Ulster responded eight minutes later with Cormac Izuchukwu scoring from close-range way as former Munster man Bill Johnston landed the conversion to bring the scores level.

Former Rockwell men Flannery and Johnston traded penalties before the break and the sides were level at 10-all at the interval.

Resolute Ulster defence kept Munster at bay in the early stages of the second half  before Conor McMenamin scored another close-range try for the Ulster men.

The Johnston conversion was off target but Ulster led 15-10 as we approached the final quarter with the next score crucial.

Unfortunately for Munster it was the hosts who streaked further in front on 62 minutes as Aaron Sexton broke through the Munster defence near halfway and showed good pace to finish.

Johnston converted for a 22-10 Ulster lead and that’s how it stayed.

Munster A are back in action at Thomond Park next Friday (December 18) at 5.30pm.

Tries: Cormac Izuchukwu, Conor McMenamin, Aaron Sexton

Cons: Bill Johnston (two)

Pen: Bill Johnston

Try: Darren Sweetnam

Con: Jake Flannery

Pen: Jake Flannery

Ulster Rugby A: Ethan McIlroy; Conor Rankin, Ben Moxham, Hayden Hyde, Aaron Sexton; Bill Johnston, Lewis Finlay; Callum Reid, Adam McBurney, Ross Kane; Cormac Izuchukwu, Conor McMenamin; David McCann (C), Marcus Rea, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: James McCormick, Kyle McCall, Gareth Milasinovich, Harry Sheridan, George Saunderson, Nathan Doak, Bruce Houston, Bradley Roberts.

Munster Rugby A: Darren Sweetnam; Sean French, Dan Goggin, Jack Crowley, Liam Coombes; Jake Flannery, Nick McCarthy; Liam O’Connor, Diarmuid Barron, Roman Salanoa; Paddy Kelly, Thomas Ahern; Tommy O’Donnell (C), Chris Cloete, Jack O’Sullivan.

Replacements (all used): Scott Buckley, James French, Mark Donnelly, Keynan Knox, Cian Hurley, Jack Daly, Alex Kendellen, Ben Murphy, Ethan Coughlan, Conor Phillips, Alan Flannery, Jonathan Wren.