DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Munster A Win in Swansea

October 14, 2017 9:16 pm By The Editor

Munster A Win in Swansea

British & Irish Cup, St Helen's, Swansea 14/10/2017 Ospreys Premiership Select vs Munster A Munster A’s Kevin O’Byrne in action Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ashley Crowden

Munster A opened their British and Irish Cup title defence with a 24-6 win against Ospreys Premiership Select at Swansea this afternoon.

After a nip and tuck first half the hosts led 6-3 at the break however a clinical second forty saw Peter Malone’s charges click as they crossed for three tries, scored by Kevin O’Byrne, Gavin Coombes and John Poland.  The boot of JJ Hanrahan added 7 points while replacement 10 Bill Johnston kicked the final conversion.

With a low scoring first half there was an exchange of penalties in the opening thirty with Ospreys number 10 Phil Jones kicking 3 after a Munster maul infringement while JJ Hanrahan replied with his own effort when the Ospreys were caught offside after 27 minutes.

The men in red coughed up another three just before the half-time whistle and Jones stepped up to nudge his side in front.

On the resumption Munster pressure paid off with an early Kevin O’Byrne try, converted by Hanrahan, and minutes later the A’s thought they were over again through James Hart, only to be ruled out by the referee.

They made no mistake with the next attempt as academy number 7 Gavin Coombes scored off a 5m scrum, and again JJ kicked the extras.

Advancing into the final quarter the province continued to apply the pressure and were rewarded for their efforts with a final try scored by replacement scrumhalf John Poland with 3 minutes remaining.  Bill Johnston slotted the final conversion.

Next up for Munster A is Nottingham in Irish Independent Park on Friday October 20th at 7.45pm.  The English side will have a familiar look to it with Head Coach Ian Costello in place and former players Jordan Coghlan, Gearoid Lyons, Shane Buckley and Rory Burke all lining out for the green and whites.

P Jones 2 Penalties

Kevin O’Byrne 1 Try

Gavin Coombes 1 Try

John Poland 1 Try

JJ Hanrahan 1 Penalty; 2 Conversions

Bill Johnston 1 Conversion

Ospreys Premiership Select:

Munster A:  David Johnston – capt.; Stephen Fitzgerald, Sam Arnold, Alex McHenry (Johnston 53), Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan (L Coombes 72), James Hart (Poland 64); Brian Scott, Kevin O’Byrne (Sherry 56), Ciaran Parker (O’Donovan 60); Ronan Coffey (Wilson 56), Sean McCarthy; Sean O’Connor, Gavin Coombes, Tom Ryan (Mintern 53).