DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Munster A Return to Winning Ways

December 16, 2017 9:03 pm By The Editor

Gavin Coombes makes a break.

Gavin Coombes makes a break. INPHO/Andrew Fosker

Munster A got their B&I Cup campaign back on track with an away win over Bedford Blues this afternoon, defeating the Championship side 16—12 at Goldington Road thanks to a Ciaran Parker try and the boot of Bill Johnston.

In a much improved performance this week the Peter Malone coached side showed impressive defensive form to keep the home side scoreless for 50 minutes.

There was a late change before kick off with replacement scrumhalf John Poland taking the starting place of James Hart.

The province got off to the ideal start with an opening Bill Johnston penalty after three minutes before a period of pressure in the hosts 22 saw Ciaran Parker score after a series of pick and go attempts.

With Johnston adding the conversion the men in red led 10-nil after the opening quarter.

Expecting a reaction the Blues did fight back and pressed hard in looking to get on the scoreboard however Munster’s defensive line speed was consistent and quick and Bedford were unable to break the line in the first half.

An early infringement from the home side in the opening minutes of the second forty gave Johnston the chance to extend the lead further before the Blues finally broke the whitewash out wide.

Although the opposition managed to eventually cross it was mostly Munster on the front foot as they looked to bounce back from last week’s defeat in Cork.

A 63rd minute penalty from Johnston made it an 11 point game, however Bedford squeezed in an injury time reply to register a losing bonus point after a converted try from replacement prop Camilo Parilli-Ocampo.

Munster A: David Johnston (C); Stephen Fitzgerald, Alex McHenry, Dave McCarthy, Liam Coombes (J Power 56); Bill Johnston (C Fitzgerald 78), John Poland; Jeremy Loughman, Mike Sherry (V O’Brien 70), Ciaran Parker (R O’Donovan 70); Fineen Wycherley, Sean McCarthy; Sean O’Connor (J O’Sullivan 56), Gavin Coombes (E Mintern 67), Robin Copeland.

Dean Adamson 1 Try

Camilo Parilli-Ocampo 1 Try

Will Hooley 1 Conversion

Bill Johnston 3 Penalties; 1 Conversion

Ciaran Parker 1 Try

Bedford Blues:  Rich Lane, Ryan Hutler, Ollie Dodge, Michael Le Bourgeois (c), Dean Adamson, Will Hooley, Jordan Burns; Sean McCarthy, Tom Lindsay, Dave Spelman, Jordan Onojaife, Will Carrick-Smith, Paul Tupai, Josh Buggea, Huw Worthington

Replacements: Jacob Fields, Camilo Parilli-Ocampo, Ben Cooper, Alex Rae, Jarad Williams, Lee Dickson, Harry Sheppard.

Munster A: David Johnston (C); Stephen Fitzgerald, Alex McHenry, Dave McCarthy, Liam Coombes; Bill Johnston, John Poland; Jeremy Loughman, Mike Sherry, Ciaran Parker; Fineen Wycherley, Sean McCarthy; Sean O’Connor, Gavin Coombes, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Vincent O’Brien, Rob O’Donovan, Evan Mintern, Jack O’Sullivan, James Hart, Conor Fitzgerald, Jack Power.