DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Munster A Edge Out Nottingham

January 12, 2018 10:46 pm By The Editor

Munster A

Munster A's Bill Johnston on the attack against Nottingham INPHO/Daniel Matthams

Munster A recorded their fourth British and Irish Cup win this season with a 17-12 victory over Nottingham in a close encounter at Ladybay on Friday night.

Nottingham were first to secure points on the board with an unconverted try through Jimmy Stevens in the ninth minute, following an early period of sustained pressure.

Munster A then reacted after finding momentum through scrum-half James Hart who went over for the visitor’s first score following a well executed move from the back-line in the 32nd minute, converted by Bill Johnston.

It wasn’t long before Munster A took advantage of possession with second-row Fineen Wycherley bagging his side’s second after collecting from centre Shane Daly, as Johnston added the extras before the interval.

After the break, the hosts attacked from deep and as a result of impressive interplay were rewarded with an early try courtesy of Joe Cobden.

The conversion from Tiff Eden then edged Nottingham to within two points of Munster A.

Nottingham continued to pressurise the Munster A defence on several occasions but failed to come away with a crucial score.

The visitors held strong towards the final quarter of the match, maintaining their narrow lead with impressive defensive efforts from centre Dave McCarthy and replacement Ronan O’Mahony.

A penalty on half-way for Peter Malone’s charges released the Munster forwards in a series of carries, and several rucks later Number 8 Gavin Coombes hit the base of the post but the referee was unsighted and called play back for another penalty.

Munster A strengthened their attack in the closing stages of the match as Nottingham went down to 14 men with Matt Everard seeing yellow for an infringement in the 71st minute.

A Munster A line-out put the Nottingham defence under significant pressure as McCarthy and John Poland gained territory into the 22 before a penalty was awarded to the visitors.

Replacement Conor Fitzgerald then slotted the opportunity to take the current B&I Cup holders five points clear to see out the win with minutes remaining on the clock.

The squad will now face Ospreys Premiership Select at Irish Independent Park on Friday 19 January (kick-off 7.45pm).

Munster A: Dave Johnston (C); Calvin Nash, Shane Daly (Ronan O’Mahony, 40), Dave McCarthy, Stephen Fitzgerald; Bill Johnston (Conor Fitzgerald, 72), James Hart (John Poland, 63); Jeremy Loughman, Mike Sherry (Duncan Casey, 51), Brian Scott (Ciaran Parker, 63); Fineen Wycherley, Gerbrandt Grobler (Sean McCarthy, 63); Sean O’Connor (John Foley, 72), Conor Oliver, Gavin Coombes.

Tries: Jimmy Stevens and Joe Cobden 

Conversions: Eden Tiff 

Tries: James Hart and Fineen Wycherley 

Conversions: Bill Johnston (two) 

Nottingham:  Sean Scanlon, Billy Robinson, Will Millett, Gearoid Lyons, Joe Cobden, Tiff Eden, Murray McConnell; Aniseko Sio, Jimmy Stevens, Rory Burke; Tim Cardall, Ben Morris (C), Shane Buckley, Jordan Coghlan, Josh Poullet.

Replacements: Ben Brownlie, Jamie Jack, Ben Hooper, Seb Cecil, Matt Everard, Darryl Veenendaal, Vili Hakalo.

Munster A: Dave Johnston (C); Calvin Nash, Shane Daly, Dave McCarthy, Stephen Fitzgerald; Bill Johnston, James Hart; Jeremy Loughman, Mike Sherry, Brian Scott; Fineen Wycherley, Gerbrandt Grobler; Sean O’Connor, Conor Oliver, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Ciaran Parker, Sean McCarthy, John Foley, John Poland, Conor Fitzgerald, Ronan O’Mahony.