DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Munster A Claim Series Win Over Ravens

April 29, 2015 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Munster A Claim Series Win Over Ravens

Munster ‘A’ secured a series win over the Ulster Ravens following this afternoon’s 41-27 victory at Naas RFC. The game saw former Canterbury player Tyler Bleyendaal play his first 60 minutes of rugby for the province.

In total, Mick O’Driscoll’s charges ran in six tries in making it two victories from three encounters with the northern province in the past two months.

Playing into a strong wind, Munster kept the ball in hand in the opening half before kicking and playing a more expansive game in the second 40. Despite the scrum feeling the pressure at times throughout the game, the line-out remained solid and O’Driscoll will be happy with the performances of a number of ‘A’ debutants including Tyler Bleyendaal and try scorers Conor Oliver and Olly Lyons.

It was the St Mary’s College clubman Oliver who opened the scoring on 19 minutes and his touchdown was followed just three minutes later with a try from Johne Murphy handing the Munstermen a 10-0 lead.

The aforementioned problems in the scrum allowed Michael Heaney to get Ravens off the mark with a penalty and following further a infringement from Munster, the Ravens’ 10 reduced the lead to four on 33 minutes.

Making for yet another compelling clash between these interprovincial rivals, both sides traded tries before the interval – Luke O’Dea and Kyle McCall crossing for Munster and Ravens respectively. Despite missing the opening two conversions, Bleyendaal soon hit his stride and landed the difficult touchline kick.

17-13 the half time score.

Bleyendaal was again on hand to convert the try of ‘A’ debutant Olly Lyons on 59 minutes, however Ravens soon took the lead for the first time in the game after Peter Nelson was the quickest to react to a Munster spill in defence and with Heaney slotting the conversion, the Ulstermen led 17-20.

Their lead would be short-lived as winger Diarmuid McCarthy found himself on the end of a breakaway try for Munster with David Johnston making it a full seven point return.

Johnston added another penalty before Kiernan Campbell’s men made Munster sweat six minutes from time when Stephen Mulholland crossed for a converted try to make it a one score game with six minutes to go.

Not to worry, McCarthy would run in for his second try in five minutes and with Johnston making it a clean sweep in the conversion stakes, Munster ‘A’ ran out 41-27 winners.

Dave O’Callaghan left the field with a knee injury after 19 minutes and will be assessed in the coming days.

Munster A: Johne Murphy (A Wootton 65); Darren Sweetnam, David Johnston, Dan Goggin (R Deegan 70), Luke O'Dea (D McCarthy 57); Tyler Bleyendaal (G Lyons 59), Cathal Sheridan (N Cronin 57); Liam O'Connor (JP Phelan 40), Niall Scannell (L O Halloran 70), Peter McCabe (N Horan 57); John Madigan, Frank Bradshaw Ryan (L Nicholas 40); Dave O'Callaghan (O Lyons 19), Conor Oliver (D Dee 70), Jack O'Donoghue Capt.

Replacements: Luke O'Halloran (Young Munster), Niall Horan, JP Phelan (UCD), Lee Nicholas (Shannon), Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster), Olly Lyons (Exiles), Neil Cronin (Garryowen), Gearoid Lyons, Robbie Deegan (Shannon), Alex Wootton, Diarmuid McCarthy (Young Munster).

C Oliver 1 Try

J Murphy 1 Try

L O'Dea 1 Try

O Lyons 1 Try

D McCarthy 2 Tries

T Bleyendaal 2 Conversions

D Johnston 2 Conversions; 1 Penalty
K McCoy 1 Try 

P Nelson 1 Try

S Mulholland 

M Heaney 3 Conversions; 2 Penalties
Johne Murphy; Darren Sweetnam, David Johnston, Dan Goggin, Luke O'Dea; Tyler Bleyendaal, Cathal Sheridan; Liam O'Connor, Niall Scannell, Peter McCabe; John Madigan, Frank Bradshaw Ryan; Dave O'Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Jack O'Donoghue Capt.

Replacements: Luke O'Halloran, Niall Horan, JP Phelan, Lee Nicholas, Diarmaid Dee, Olly Lyons, Neil Cronin, Gearoid Lyons, Robbie Deegan, Alex Wootton, Diarmuid McCarthy.
P Nelson, M Allen, M Best, S Arnold, M Hooks, M Heaney, D Shanahan K McCall, J Andrew, R Lutton, J Donnan L Stevenson (Captain), C Joyce, C Ross, L Dow.

Replacements: P Jackson, R Murphy, A Thompson, N McComb, F Taggart, S Reidy, S Mulholland, C Young, K Joyce, A Lidell, P Dunlop.