DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Munster A Battle For Victory

February 7, 2014 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Munster A Battle For Victory

Munster A recorded a 15-13 win away to Connacht Eagles in the A Interprovincial today at the Sportsground.

This was the second victory for the Peter Malone coached side against Connacht opposition this season – Munster recorded a 20-12 victory in September in Musgrave Park.

The squad, captained by Ronan O’Mahony, included a number of sub academy and club players making their first appearance at A level, but with the experienced senior and academy players leading the way the developing players seamlessly stepped up.

Despite trailing 13-5 at the break Munster A had the wind behind them for the closing 40 and took full advantage, claiming two tries and keeping the home-side at bay to secure the two point victory.

Connacht opened with two Miah Nikora penalties before Mata Fifita touched down for the first try of the game. With Nikora adding the extras the Eagles led 13 nil before academy player Darren Sweetnam claimed a well taken intercept try just before the half. Holland was off-mark with the conversion and the score stayed at 13-5.

With the blustery conditions Munster kicked for territory in the second half and UL Bohemians hooker Kevin O’Byrne, on his Munster A debut, scored off a driving maul to reduce the gap to 3 points.

Munster A continued to apply the pressure in the closing quarter and Shane Buckley scored the winning try for a 15-13 Munster A victory.

Munster A: Ronan O'Mahony (David Johnston 63); Darren Sweetnam, Harry McNulty (Rory Scannell 55), Cian Bohane, Luke O'Dea (A Wootton H/T); Johnny Holland, Brian Haugh (Jamie Glynn 70); Niall Horan (Conor Glynn 72), Kevin O'Byrne (Ben Burns 75), Alan Cotter (Mike Lynch 70); Ian Nagle, Darren O'Shea; Lee Nicholas (Luke Cahill H/T), Ryan Murphy (Aidan Butler 72), Shane Buckley.

M Nikora 2 Penalties; 1 Conversion

M Fifita 1 Try

D Sweetnam 1 Try

K O'Byrne 1 Try

S Buckley 1 Try

Tiernan O’Halloran; Shane Layden, Rory Parata, Dave McSharry, Ciaran Gaffney, Miah Nikora, Frank Murphy; Finlay Bealham, James Rael, Peter Reilly, Conor Kindregran, Danny Qualter, Mata Fifita, Shane Casey, Eoghan Masterson. Replacements: Pat O’Toole, Jacob Walshe, Saba Meunagria, Josh O’Rourke, Jack Dineen, Caolin Blade, Tadhg Leader, Brian Murphy, Steve Macauley, David Panter.  
Ronan O'Mahony (Capt.); Darren Sweetnam, Harry McNulty, Cian Bohane, Luke O'Dea; Johnny Holland, Brian Haugh; Niall Horan, Kevin O'Byrne, Alan Cotter; Ian Nagle, Darren O'Shea; Lee Nicholas, Ryan Murphy, Shane Buckley. Replacements: Ben Burns, Mike Lynch, Conor Glynn, Luke Cahill, Aidan Butler, Jamie Glynn, Rory Scannell, David Johnston, Alex Wootton.