DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Munster A Bag Bonus Point In Doncaster

January 7, 2017 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Munster A Bag Bonus Point In Doncaster

Despite a slow start, Munster A soon hit their stride and ran in four tries in securing a bonus point win away to Doncaster Knights at Castle Park this afternoon.

Taking time to settle, Munster A did well to concede just one try as Doncaster took command in the opening 20 minutes, their greater cohesion and physicality winning them the lion’s share of penalties, one of which saw Jarad Williams cross for the game’s opening try.  But the men in red soon got going and, in stark contrast to the opening 20, began to boss proceedings approaching the interval with a Gavin Coombes try and Te Aihe Toma conversion seeing Munster start the second half all square at 7-7.

Leading from the front, captain Robin Copeland bolstered Munster’s ever growing momentum and confidence with a try on 42 minutes and from there they began to cut loose, taking advantage of Doncaster’s lack of composure as Munster upped the ante.  Calvin Nash and Cian Bohane both picked off intercepts before Sam Edgerly drew one back for Knights, but it was too little too late as Munster left Castle Park with a maximum return for their efforts.

There was no let up from Knights early on as they forced penalty after penalty from their visitors and it was off a fourth consecutive kick to the corner that quick line out ball saw Williams cross for the game’s opening try on 16 minutes with Simon Humberstone adding the conversion.

Not until the second quarter did Munster start to threaten Doncaster.  Accidental offside saw an initial opportunity go a begging, but soon after, a lineout on the 5m line provided the platform for academy back row Coombes to touch down for his second try of the current campaign.  Switching to out half for the afternoon’s proceedings, Toma added the extras and Munster were back on level terms by the 35 minute mark.

With momentum swinging the way of the visitors, they were out in front on 42 minutes when captain Copeland led by example in using his ample bulk and athleticism to break the tackle and cross for his side’s second try with Toma again converting.

And there was more to come from the province.

Academy winger Calvin Nash showed he has serious gas to burn with a breakaway try from just inside half way and his touchdown under the posts on 55 minutes gave Toma the easiest of conversions which he duly slotted.

Three minutes later Munster A were in again as they picked off loose play by Knights who began to chase proceedings.  This time Bohane pounced on a misplaced pass to run through unopposed from half way and Toma made it four-from-four with the extras.

Striking when his team needed it most, Edgerley’s chip and chase saw the winger finish superbly to give Doncaster a glimmer of hope with less than a quarter to play but a missed conversion didn’t make their comeback chances any easier.

Munster would hold out from there to record a fine 12-28 away win, a result that sees them consolidate their top spot in Pool 2 ahead of next Friday night’s return encounter with Doncaster at Bandon RFC – ko 7pm.

Tickets for Munster A v Doncaster Knights can be purchased online here.

Entry is free for all MRSC and 10 Year ticket holders on production of membership cards or season tickets.

Jarad Williams – 1 try

Sam Edgerley – 1 try

Simon Humberstone – 1 conversion

Gavin Coombes – 1 try

Robin Copeland – 1 try

Calvin Nash – 1 try

Cian Bohane – 1 try

Te Aihe Toma – 4 conversions

Doncaster Knights: Paul Jarvis; Andy Bulumakau, Lloyd Hayes, Mat Clark, Sam Edgerley; Simon Humberstone, Michael Heaney; Richard List, Jack Bergmanas, Colin Quigley; Huw Taylor, Glen Young; Jack Ram, Michael Hills – capt., Jarad Williams.

Replacements: Robin Hislop, Dave Nelson, WillGriff John, Matt Challinor, Will Owen, Declan Cusack, Ben White.

Munster A: David Johnston; Calvin Nash, Sam Arnold (Bohane HT), Dan Goggin, Greg O’Shea (Fitzgerald 58); Te Aihe Toma, John Poland; Peter McCabe (O’Connor 51), Kevin O’Byrne (O’Brien 62), Brian Scott (Burke 51); Fineen Wycherley, Evan Mintern (Coffey 69); Dave O’Callaghan, Gavin Coombes (Faloon 73), Robin Copeland – capt.

Replacements: Vincent O’Brien, Liam O’Connor, Rory Burke, Ronan Coffey, Bailey Faloon, Cian Bohane, Stephen Fitzgerald.