DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Bonus Point Win For Munster A

December 20, 2015 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Bonus Point Win For Munster A

Munster A this afternoon scored six tries in running out deserved 26-46 winners over Ospreys Premiership Select in Round 4 of the B&I Cup in Wales. Shane Buckley, Kevin O’Byrne, Sean Doyle, Jordan Coghlan and Ronan O’Mahony all crossed for tries with Bill Johnston adding 16 points from the boot.

It was the hosts who retained practically all of the opening possession and by right should have been 10-0 up after 10 minutes – Ospreys’ Luke Price snatching at his first kick at goal after Munster went off their feet in front of the posts, however, the out-half was on the money just minutes later when converting his side’s opening try. With Munster A penalised downfield for not rolling away, a long kick to the corner provided the perfect attacking platform for the Welshmen who employed the lineout maul before going through the phases at close range and Ifereimi Boladau barged over for the game’s first try on 8 minutes.

Once they got their hands on the ball, the tide soon turned in Munster A’s favour with Ospreys struggling to cope with their visitors’ pace at the breakdown. Making headway with each collision, Munster A soon turned pressure into a penalty opportunity and opting for touch, the pack were clinical with the subsequent lineout maul, Shane Buckley the one to touch down on 13 minutes with academy out-half Bill Johnston adding the extras.

Further good pressure saw a last ditch Ospreys defence carry the ball over their own try line and with Munster A winning a penalty from the 5 metre scrum, the pack were just as potent with their second lineout maul – hooker Kevin O’Byrne touching down with Johnston bisecting the posts from a touchline conversion.

O’Driscoll’s charges then had their lead extended to 21-7 after Sean Doyle came from deep in receiving captain Cathal Sheridan’s pass and, running a wonderful line, the back-row displayed great pace in dancing though the Ospreys’ defence for Munster A’s third. This time Johnston had the easiest of conversions in front of the posts.

A firm reminder that the game was far from over came with a wonderful team try from Ospreys. Countering from within their own half, neat interplay from Matthew Aubrey and full-back Richard Fussell saw the latter touch down under the posts with Price making it a one try game with his second conversion.

However a penalty from Johnston just on the half-time whistle then put a little more daylight between the sides – Munster A leading 14-24 at the break.

Johnston was again on target with a penalty upon the resumption, but soon after the men in red we caught napping when a communication breakdown in their own lineout saw opposition hooker Matthew Dwyer pounce on the loose ball and touch down for the softest of tries.

Yet Munster would soon quell any hopes of a home-side comeback with two unanswered tries, the first of which came from Jordan Coghlan – the back-row’s quick tap and go off a scrum penalty getting the better of the Ospreys defence and securing Munster A a try bonus point.

The second came off Munster A’s ever formidable lineout maul, where, after good yards were made, Duncan Williams broke and sold the dummy before releasing Ronan O’Mahony on his inside and the winger ran in unopposed under the posts – Johnston again adding the conversion.

The visitors did at least secure a try bonus point through Kristian Phillips on 71 minutes with Price converting, but that was before Munster A finished on a flourish – Dan Goggin neatly offloading to O’Mahony on the left wing who showed great pace in burning the defence on the outside and completing his brace – Munster A’s sixth try.

Landing all bar one of his placekicks on the evening, the impressive Bill Johnston slotted the extra two points to push Munster A out to a deserved 26-46 bonus point victory.

Mick O’Driscoll’s side will now travel to face Yorkshire Carnegie in Round 5 on Sunday January 17th at 3pm.

Ifereimi Boladau – 1 try

Richard Fussell -  1 try

Kristian Phillips – 1 try

Matthew Dwyer – 1 try

Luke Price – 3 conversions
Shane Buckley – 1 try

Sean Doyle - 1 try

Kevin O’Byrne – 1 try

Jordan Coghlan – 1 try

Ronan O’Mahony – 2 tries

Bill Johnston  - 5 conversions, 2 penalties
Ospreys Premiership Select: Richard Fussell – capt.; Tom Williams, Joe Thomas, Owen Watkin, Kristian Phillips; Luke Price, Matthew Aubrey; Marc Thomas, Matthew Dwyer, Ma'afu Fia; Adam Beard, Rynier Bernardo; Sam Underhill, Lloyd Evans, Ifereimi Boladau.
Replacements: Dale Rogers, Dan Suter, Gareth Thomas, Rhys Jones, Rhodri Hughes, Reuben Morgan Williams.
Munster A: David Johnston; Ronan O'Mahony, Matt D'Arcy (Fitzgerald 66), Cian Bohane (Goggin 56), Darren Sweetnam; Bill Johnston, Cathal Sheridan – capt. (Williams 51); Liam O'Connor (Quinlan 74), Kevin O'Byrne, Rory Burke (Betts 71); Sean McCarthy, Sean Doyle (Kilkenny 62) Jordan Coghlan, Conor Oliver (Lyons 74), Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Brendan Quinlan, Ben Betts, Ollie Lyons, Ben Kilkenny, Duncan Williams, Dan Goggin, Stephen Fitzgerald.