DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Bonus Point Win For Munster A

December 11, 2015 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Matt D

Matt D'Arcy dances inside the Osprey's defence for Munster A's first try. Matt D'Arcy dances inside the Osprey's defence for Munster A's first try.

Munster A recorded a 28-8 victory at Old Crescent RFC tonight when taking on Ospreys Premiership Select in round three of the British and Irish Cup.

Leading 8-3 at half-time thanks to a converted Matt D'Arcy try, Munster A went on to score three second half tries in securing the bonus point win tonight at a cold but dry Rosbrien.

An entertaining game saw both sides shift the ball at pace but Munster A would have been disappointed with missed opportunities in the opening 40 after a series of knock-ons ended promising attacking play. Although it was dry for the game the ball was greasy from the previous days rainfall.

Despite early discipline issues for Munster A the visitors were unable to capitalise with number 10 Joel Matavesi missing two penalty kicks in the opening ten minutes.

In turn Munster A were the first to get on the scoreboard after Captain Billy Holland offloaded to centre Matt D'Arcy who darted around the Ospreys defence for the opening try. Young academy outhalf Bill Johnston added the conversion.

Further Munster indiscipline provided Matavesi a third penalty chance and the outhalf was successful with his attempt on the half-hour mark, and the sides finished 7-3 at the break.

Better ball control in the second half saw Mick O’Driscoll’s side convert possession into points with three tries scored, and the all-important try bonus point after 70 minutes.

Forwards Shane Buckley, Kevin O’Byrne and Sean McCarthy all touched down for Munster A. Buckley and O’Byrne both scored off dominant lineout mauls while McCarthy crossed from close range after the men in red kept the ball in tight for a series of pick and goes.

Bill Johnston completed a successful night from the tee by converting all four tries.

Munster A travel for the return fixture at Brewery Field next Sunday December 20th, ko 3pm.

M D’Arcy 1 Try
S Buckley 1 Try
K O’Byrne 1 Try
S McCarthy 1 Try
B Johnston 4 Conversions
J Matavesi 1 Pen
I Boladau 1 Try
David Johnston (Stephen Fitzgerald 73); Gerhard van den Heever, Matt D'Arcy (Dan Goggin 68), Cian Bohane, Darren Sweetnam; Bill Johnston, Duncan Williams (Cathal Sheridan 55); Liam O'Connor, Kevin O'Byrne (Brendan Quinlan 75), Mario Sagario (Rory Burke 68); Sean McCarthy, Billy Holland - capt.; Jordan Coghlan (Sean O’Connor 75), Sean Doyle (Conor Oliver 60), Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Brendan Quinlan, Rory Burke, Sean O'Connor, Conor Oliver, Cathal Sheridan, Dan Goggin, Stephen Fitzgerald.
Richard Fussell Capt. (Joe Gage 78), Tom Williams, Joe Thomas, Owen Watkin, Keelan Giles, Joel Matavesi, Matthew Aubrey; Marc Thomas (Dale Rogers 75), Matthew Dwyer, Dan Suter (Cai Lewis 65); Adam Beard (Rynier Bernardo 52), Rhodri Hughes; Sam Underhill, Lloyd Evans, Ifereimi Boladau. 

Replacements:  Cai Lewis, Dale Rogers, Rynier Bernardo, Rhys Jones, Reuben Wiliams, Luke Price, Joe Gage.