DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Second Half Control Once Again The Key

December 29, 2007 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Second Half Control Once Again The Key

Leading by just 12 points at half time, Munster, for the third successive time, again produced a superbly controlled second half performance to end up 17-0 winners over Connacht at Musgrave Park

Man of the Match Paul Warwick kicked four first half penalties and a try from Denis Leamy in the final quarter saw off what had been never less than a courageous and committed Connacht performance.

Munster played with the elements at their back in the first half, the driving wind and rain blowing from the Sunday’s Well end of the ground made playing conditions extremely difficult for both sides.

Although they enjoyed the most of the territorial advantage Munster could not breach the Connacht defence and the visitors looked lively when they had the ball, only denied a try by a great tackle from full back Denis Hurley.

Trailing by just 12 points at the break, Connacht must have fancied their chances but they simply didn’t have the ball long enough to threaten. And on the rare occasions that they did, the Munster defence was impressive as the Connacht one had been in the opening half.

Leamy’s try to seal the outcome was created by a good Warwick break and support from Tony Buckley and Federico Pucciariello and although Connacht came hunting for a consolation try in the closing stages, Munster refused to give it up, determined by then that Kelly’s night would not be marred in any way.

Munster: Denis Hurley; J Kelly, K Lewis, L Mafi, I Dowling; P Warwick, P Stringer; F Pucciariello, F Sheahan, T Buckley; D O’Callaghan, D Ryan; D Leamy, N Ronan, A Foley. Replacements: M Horan for Pucciariello (73 mins), B Murphy for Dowling (75 mins), J Coughlan for Ronan, Gerry Hurley for Kelly (both 80 mins).

Connacht: G Duffy; D Yapp, D Riordan, A Wynne, O Treviranus; A Dunne, C O’Loughlin; B Wilkinson, A Flavin, R Loughney; M Swift, D Gannon; M McCarthy, J O’Connor, J Muldoon. Replacements: C McPhillips for Treviranus (26 mins), C Rigney for Muldoon (40 mins), A Farley for Gannon (44 mins), A Browne for Swift (58 mins), B McGovern for Loughney (71 mins).

Referee: C Stanley (IRFU).

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups