DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Southern Kings

February 14, 2019 11:30 am By The Editor

Andrew Conway starts for Munster at Irish Independent Park on Friday night.

Andrew Conway starts for Munster at Irish Independent Park on Friday night.

The Munster side has been named for Friday night’s Guinness PRO14 clash against Southern Kings at Irish Independent Park (7.35pm).

Tickets are available online here.

There are seven changes to the side that defeated Dragons in Munster’s last outing three weeks ago.

Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Niall Scannell, John Ryan and Billy Holland all return from international duty to start the clash. Tyler Bleyendaal captains the side in his first start at out-half this season with his three previous starts this campaign at inside centre.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Conway and Darren Sweetnam named on the flanks.

Rory Scannell and Farrell start in the centres with Neil Cronin and Bleyendaal named in the half-backs.

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Ryan pack down in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Holland in the engine room.

Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete and Arno Botha start in the back row to complete the side. Cloete makes his first appearance since sustaining a neck injury in December.

JJ Hanrahan has recovered from a hip injury sustained last month to take his place in the squad with Academy back-row forward Gavin Coombes also named among the replacements.

The clash sees Southern Kings visit Munster for the first time with the province leading the way in Conference A of the Guinness PRO14.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (C), Neil Cronin; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Gavin Coombes, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin.

See full event information for Friday night here.

Check out the best pics from training this week here.

Read the latest squad update here.

Video | Felix Jones Interview

Home Fixtures


Fri, February 15 – Guinness PRO14: Munster v Southern Kings, Irish Independent Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here


Sat, March 23 – Guinness PRO14: Munster v Zebre, Thomond Park, 7.45pm; Early Bird Closes 5pm on Wed, March 6 – Buy tickets here


Fri, April 5 – Guinness PRO14: Munster v Cardiff Blues, Irish Independent Park, 7.35pm; Early Bird Closes 5pm on Wed, March 20 – Buy tickets here

Sat, April 27 – Guinness PRO14: Munster v Connacht, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Early Bird Closes 5pm on Wed, March 20 – Buy tickets here

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Seven-Try Munster Blast Past Kings

February 15, 2019 9:50 pm By The Editor

Rory Scannell scored a try and kicked four conversions in Friday night

Rory Scannell scored a try and kicked four conversions in Friday night's victory.

A dominant second half performance gave Munster a seven-try Guinness PRO14 victory over Southern Kings at a sold-out Irish Independent Park on Friday night.

Neil Cronin scored his first Munster try with Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Billy Holland, Rhys Marshall, Man of the Match Jean Kleyn and Rory Scannell also touching down in the bonus-point win.

Scannell kicked four conversions as Munster kept their place at the top of Conference A ahead of next Friday’s trip to Ospreys.

It was the Southern Kings who started the brighter with the South African visitors adapting to the difficult conditions well.

Kings made a number of line breaks early on with their impressive speed and handling to the fore but strong Munster defence eventually forced the knock-on.

When Munster did manage to get into the Kings half, they took advantage with a clinical first try after 13 minutes.

Scannell set up the field position with a penalty into the corner and although Chris Farrell was halted just short of the line, Cronin sniped over from close range.

Scannell converted and Munster led 7-0.

Munster were on top but it was scrappy enough with the hosts unable to turn pressure into points.

A yellow card for Southern Kings no.8 Ruaan Lerma for an infringement at the ruck gave Munster a man advantage on 34 minutes.

The province made it count with a second try through Conway with Tyler Bleyendaal giving the telling pass for the winger to skate through the stretched Kings defence.

Scannell’s conversion thudded off the post and out as Munster led 12-0 at the interval.

Munster improved in the second half and Sweetnam touched down the third try on 54 minutes.

The score came after a well-worked move with Mike Haley making good ground as Conway eventually chipped in behind the defence.

Alby Mathewson won the race but was hauled down for what would have been a penalty try but Sweetnam was on the spot to touch down.

Scannell drilled the touchline conversion over and Munster led 19-0.

The bonus-point was secured just after the hour following another concerted period of Munster pressure with Holland powering over for his fourth Munster try on his 204th appearance.

Munster were over for a fifth try on 66 minutes after a superbly executed rolling maul with Marshall touching down. Scannell’s conversion gave Munster a 31-0 lead.

Two yellow cards in quick succession for Tertius Kruger and Andisa Ntsila reduced the Kings to 13 men and Munster took advantage once again.

A well-taken short lineout from five metres out saw Kleyn score Munster’s sixth try with the big lock stretching to score in the right corner.

The wind carried Scannell’s conversion wide and the lead was 36-0 after 72 minutes.

Centre Scannell had the last word in the final play as he scooped up a loose ball and scored under the posts after the Kings looked to run the ball from deep.

His conversion made it 43-0 as Munster made it six wins in a row.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell (Dan Goggin, 17), Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (C) (JJ Hanrahan, 65), Neil Cronin (Alby Mathewson, 49); Jeremy Loughman (Liam O’Connor, 49), Niall Scannell (Rhys Marshall, 62), John Ryan (Stephen Archer, 62); Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (Darren O’Shea, 62); Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete, Arno Botha (Gavin Coombes, 68).

Guinness PRO14 Round 15 Round-Up

Chris Farrell was replaced on 17 minutes as a precautionary measure after taking an early knock.

Video | Neil Cronin Interview

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups