DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Munster Retain the Setanta Cup

August 31, 2008 12:00 am By Munster Rugby

Munster Retain the Setanta Cup

Munster ran in six tries, three in either half, on their way to a 46-22 victory over the US Eagles at the Rentschler Field Stadium in East Hartford.

Munster had to come from behind after Nese Malifa had opened the scoring with a penalty after just four minutes and then provided the scoring pass to wing Justin Boyd that had the home side 8-0 up much to the delight of the home supporters in the 8,350 strong crowd.

Paul Warwick opened Munster’s account with a 16th minute penalty and went in front when Lifeimi Mafi split the Eagles defence to score under the posts. Further tries from Billy Holland and Frank Sheahan saw Mick O’Driscoll lead his side into the welcome shade of the dressing room at half time leading 20-15.

In the second half with a clutch of replacements on to freshen things up Munster took control, Sheahan scored his second try, replacement Barry Murphy weighed in with a brace, the second a real gem as the tourists ran out more convincing winners than the final scoreline suggested.

Munster: Denis Hurley; Brian Carney, Keith Earls, Lifeimi Mafi, Anthony Horgan; Paul Warwick; Mike Prendergast;
Federico Pucciariello, Denis Fogarty, Tony Buckley; Donnacha Ryan, Mick O’Driscoll capt; Billy Holland, Niall Ronan, John O’Sullivan. Replacements: Frank Sheahan, Darragh Hurley, Mark Melbourne, Tommy O’Donnell, Tomas O’Leary, Jeremy Manning, Kieran Lewis, Rua Tipoki, Barry Murphy, Ian Dowling.

US Eagles: 1. Matekitonga Moeakiola; 2. Mark Crick; 3. Brian Lemay; 4. John Van der Giessen; 5. Louis Stanfill; 6. Todd Clever (C); 7. Kevin Sheahan; 8. Pat Quinn; 9. Mike Petri; 10. Valenese Malifa; 11. Tyrone Coppedge; 12. Albert Tuipulotu; 13. Alipate Tuilevuka; 14. Justin Boyd; 15. Chris Wyles; 16. Joe Welch; 17. Ben Barclay; 18. Ben Wiedemer; 19. Rikus Pretorius; 20. Robbie Shaw; 21. Gary Golding; 22. Blaine Scully; 23. Casey Rock; 24. Hanno Dirksen; 25. Owen Lentz; 26. Hayden Smith.

Referee: Chris Henshall

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups