DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Munster Side Named For Ospreys

September 15, 2017 11:30 am By The Editor

Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus makes just one change for tomorrow afternoon’s Guinness PRO14 clash away to Ospreys at Liberty Stadium, ko 3.15pm.

Like last weekend, that one change comes in the half backs with Tyler Bleyendaal returning to captain the side in the 10 jersey.

Should he appear off the bench, Irish international John Ryan will make his 100th appearance for the province having made his debut against Cardiff Blues in September 2011.  The former Muskerry, CBC and UCC prop becomes the tenth member of the current squad to reach the career milestone.

James Cronin is also included among the replacements and could make his first appearance of the season having successfully rehabbed a knee injury.

Munster: Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Jaco Taute, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal – capt., Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Sean O’Connor, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Fineen Wycherley, Robin Copeland, James Hart, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo.

Ospreys v Munster, Guinness PRO14 round three, Saturday September 16th at Liberty Stadium – ko 3.15pm.

This game will be televised live on Sky Sports and TG4.

Next Home Game

Munster return to home action against Cardiff Blues at Thomond Park on Saturday September 30th for a lunchtime kick-off, 1.30pm.

Tickets from

  • Adults €20
  • Juniors €7
  • Families €40

Tickets can be purchased online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, from Ticketmaster outlets, or by calling  061 421103.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Gutsy Win in Swansea

September 16, 2017 10:16 pm By The Editor

Gutsy Win in Swansea

Munster’s Tyler Bleyendaal at the Liberty Stadium. INPHO/Billy Stickland

Munster overcame Ospreys in a hard-fought battle at the Liberty Stadium today winning 21-16 with tries from Jean Kleyn and Darren Sweetnam and 11 points from the boot of Tyler Bleyendaal.

The province leads the way in Conference A after three opening round wins with the squad continuing their impressive away form from last season with their ninth win on the road.

It was a frustrating start for Erasmus’ charges in playing with superior possession, territory and physicality the men in red didn’t have the points to show for it in the early exchanges.

After failing to convert two kickable penalty opportunities Tyler Bleyendaal successfully kicked his first from the tee after 9 minutes.

A collection of individual errors cost the province and although they were dominant in terms of possession and territory it was against the run of play Ospreys went ahead.

With minimal territory the Welsh side converted their first attacking venture into the red’s 22 into points after centre James Hook found the space to dot down and Sam Davies added the extras.

The second quarter saw a marked improvement in accuracy and after some effective ball carrying man-of-the-match Jean Kleyn crashed over for Munstr’s first try.  Bleyendaal made no mistake with the conversion.

For the second, some quick thinking from academy prop Liam O’Connor saw a switch in the direction of play.  Chris Farrell hit the gap at pace and linked up with academy lock Sean O’Connor before Darren Sweetnam finished it off out wide.

After the interval both outhalves exchanged penalties before momentum began to swing Ospreys way.

With Steve Tandy’s men on the front foot Munster’s previously dominant scrum began to creak and errors again crept in.

Sam Davies kicked two penalties to bring the hosts within two points after the hour mark.

The conditions continued to impact the run of the game but Munster kept cool heads moving into the closing stages and a Bleyendaal kick with three minutes remaining sealed the round three victory.

Guinness PRO14 Round 3:  Jean Kleyn was awarded the man of the match and with his first half try the South African lock has scored in 3 successive games; 3 academy players were named in the squad with Liam O’Connor and Sean O’Connor starting, while Fineen Wycerley was an unused replacement.

Munster: Andrew Conway (S Zebo 63), Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Jaco Taute (R Scannell 54), Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal – capt., Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor (J Cronin 51), Rhys Marshall (N Scannell 51), Stephen Archer (J Ryan 51); Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Sean O’Connor (R Copeland 65), Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Fineen Wycherley, Robin Copeland, James Hart, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups