DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team News | Munster Side To Face Vodacom Bulls

April 19, 2024 11:51 am By The Editor

Stephen Archer, RG Snyman and Peter O

Stephen Archer, RG Snyman and Peter O'Mahony all start for Munster against the Bulls. Inpho

The Munster side has been named for Saturday’s URC Round 14 clash against Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld (4.05pm Irish time/5.05pm local, live on RTÉ).

There are six personnel changes and one positional switch to the side that faced Northampton Saints two weeks ago.

Calvin Nash, Shane Daly and RG Snyman start having missed out last time due to injury/illness with Conor Murray, Alex Kendellen and Jack O’Donoghue also coming into the starting XV.

Simon Zebo moves to full-back with Nash and Daly starting on either wing.

Alex Nankivell and Antoine Frisch continue their centre partnership with Murray and Jack Crowley in the half-backs.

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer start in an unchanged front row with Snyman and captain Tadhg Beirne paired together in the engine room for the first time.

A back row of Peter O’Mahony, Kendellen and O’Donoghue complete the side. O’Donoghue makes his first start since New Year’s Day on his 197th Munster appearance.

Eoghan Clarke, Josh Wycherley and Oli Jager, who returns from injury, provide the front row back-up.

Tom Ahern, Gavin Coombes and John Hodnett complete the forward cover. It will be the first game that Coombes hasn’t started this season.

Craig Casey and Joey Carbery are the backline replacements.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; RG Snyman, Tadhg Beirne (C); Peter O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, Josh Wycherley, Oli Jager, Tom Ahern, Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Joey Carbery, John Hodnett.

Press Pass

Hear from Attack Coach Mike Prendergast and John Hodnett ahead of the game.


URC Round 16: Saturday, May 11

Munster v Connacht, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 18: Saturday, June 1

Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Secure Brilliant Bonus-Point Win Against Bulls

April 20, 2024 6:56 pm By The Editor

Report | Munster Secure Brilliant Bonus-Point Win Against Bulls

Munster’s Conor Murray on his way to scoring the winning try Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Steve Haag Sports/Deon van der Merwe

Munster came from behind to carve out a bonus point win at Loftus Versfeld in this BKT United Rugby Championship encounter.

Munster led 17-10 at the end of an entertaining opening half where the lead changed hands a few times.

Munster started well and after Conor Murray saw a penalty from just inside his own half come back off the left post, they hit the front after 19 minutes when Shane Daly scored his 15th try for the province when he touched down in the left corner. Jack Crowley added the conversion from the wing.

The Bulls, unbeaten at home in a year, hit back and got back on level terms when No.8 Erligh Louw scored. Out-half Johan Goosen converted and then added a penalty from close range to lead 10-7 on the half hour.

But Munster finished the half strongly and RG Snyman scored against his former club after good pressure. Crowley converted and then added a penalty from 47 metres on the right to lead by seven at the break.

The Bulls got on top after the restart and went back in front with tries from winger Kurt-lee Ardense and hooker Johan Grobbelaar to lead 22-17.

However, out-half Goosen was issued with a red card after a high tackle on Craig Casey which saw a fourth try from Canan Moodie ruled out. Casey, who had only come on a few minutes earlier, had to go off and took no further part in the game. Conor Murray returned to the action in his place.

Munster got back on level terms four minutes after the dismissal when John Hodnett scored after a superb crosskick from Crowley.

Munster piled on the pressure after that and were rewarded seven minutes from time when Murray scored the bonus point try in the right corner to seal an important win on the road in South Africa.

BKT URC Round 14 Round-Up

Jack Crowley was awarded the BKT Player of the Match.

This bonus-point win sees Munster move up to third in the URC table.

Munster take on the Lions in Johannesburg next Saturday.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell (Joey Carbery 65), Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley 51), Niall Scannell (Eoghan Clarke 63), Stephen Archer (Oli Jager 63); RG Snyman (Tom Ahern 56), Tadhg Beirne (capt); Peter O’Mahony (Gavin Coombes 52), Alex Kendellen (John Hodnett 52), Jack O’Donoghue.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups