DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Zebre At Thomond

March 22, 2019 11:48 am By The Editor

Rory Scannell and Dan Goggin keep their places in the centres.

Rory Scannell and Dan Goggin keep their places in the centres.

The Munster squad has been named for Saturday night’s Guinness PRO14 clash against Zebre at Thomond Park (7.45pm).

Buy tickets here.

See full matchday information here.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the clash here.

CJ Stander captains the side on his return from international duty with Jack O’Donoghue making his first start since recovering from a serious knee injury.

There are seven changes to the side that faced Scarlets three weeks ago.

Alex Wootton, JJ Hanrahan, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete and Stander all come into the starting XV.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Darren Sweetnam and Wootton on either flank.

Rory Scannell and Dan Goggin continue their centre partnership with Alby Mathewson and Hanrahan in the half-backs.

Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall and Archer pack down in the front row.

Fineen Wycherley moves into the second row and is partnered by Darren O’Shea.

It’s all change in the back row as O’Donoghue, Cloete and Stander complete the side.

Tyler Bleyendaal is among the replacements and is in line to make his 50th appearance for the province.

Internationals Niall Scannell, John Ryan and Chris Farrell are also included in the matchday 23.

Munster: Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Fineen Wycherley, Darren O’Shea; Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete, CJ Stander (C).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Liam O’Connor, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Arno Botha, Duncan Williams, Tyler Bleyendaal, Chris Farrell.

Video | Press Pass

Munster Head Coach Johann van Graan, JJ Hanrahan and Rhys Marshall were all speaking to the media this week, hear the thoughts of the trio ahead of the clash below.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Bonus-Point Win For Munster Over Zebre

March 23, 2019 10:08 pm By The Editor

Mike Haley scores the fifth Munster try.

Mike Haley scores the fifth Munster try.

Munster secured a bonus-point win over Zebre at Thomond Park in the Guinness PRO14 on Saturday night thanks to a strong second-half comeback.

Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall, Darren Sweetnam, Niall Scannell and Mike Haley all touched down as Munster managed to navigate a tricky fixture against a fired-up Zebre side.

Captain CJ Stander was awarded Man of the Match with Jack O’Donoghue very impressive on his first start since recovering from a serious knee injury.

The victory keeps Munster in second place of Conference A, three points behind Glasgow Warriors with three games remaining.

Zebre were the better side in the first half and led 12-5 at the interval.

Jamie Elliot touched down for the Italians in the left corner after eight minutes to cap off a very strong start by the visitors with slick handling creating an overlap.

Zebre led 12-0 after 18 minutes with Roberto Tenga scoring after Haley spilled Carlo Canna’s grubber kick in behind the Munster defence with Canna also adding the conversion.

Munster regrouped and scored a vital try just before the break as Loughman scored off the back of a strong rolling maul to get Munster off the mark and back in the game at 12-5.

A dominant scrum, with the set-piece solid throughout, earned Munster the penalty with an excellent Hanrahan kick bringing Munster to within five metres. The pack did the rest as Loughman scored his first try for the province with Hanrahan unlucky to see his conversion come back off the post.

Munster were much improved after the break with the replacements making a very positive impact.

The hosts were level 12 minutes after the interval through Marshall after another excellent lineout maul as replacement Tyler Bleyendaal nailed the touchline conversion to level matters at 12-all.

Munster were then fortunate to see a Zebre penalty come back off the post and with Chris Cloete sent to the sin bin, the game was very much in the balance with just over 20 minutes remaining.

The hosts, crucially, scored the next try to steady the ship as Sweetnam finished well in the corner after quick hands from Haley and although Bleyendaal was unlucky to see his conversion drift just wide, Munster had the lead for the first time.

Replacement Niall Scannell was over for the all-important bonus-point try to secure all five points after 68 minutes following another well-executed lineout maul.

Haley rounded off the hard-fought victory with Munster’s fifth try late on after a lovely Rory Scannell pass sent the full-back through a gap in the Zebre defence.

Next up for Munster is the Champions Cup quarter-final against Edinburgh in Murrayfield next Saturday (12.45pm).

Guinness PRO14 Round 18 Round-Up

Jeremy Loughman scored his first try for Munster in the clash.

Jack O’Donoghue made his first start since recovering from a serious knee injury.

Tyler Bleyendaal made his 50th appearance for the province as a replacement.

Captain CJ Stander was awarded Man of the Match

Munster: Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton (Chris Farrell, 44); JJ Hanrahan (Tyler Bleyendaal, 51), Alby Mathewson (Duncan Williams, 76); Jeremy Loughman (Liam O’Connor, 70), Rhys Marshall (Niall Scannell, 53), Stephen Archer (John Ryan, 53); Fineen Wycherley, Darren O’Shea (Jean Kleyn, 53); Jack O’Donoghue, Chris Cloete (Arno Botha, 67), CJ Stander (C).

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups