DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Connacht

April 26, 2019 11:56 am By The Editor

Dan Goggin in action against Connacht

Dan Goggin in action against Connacht ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Munster Head Coach Johann van Graan has named his side for Saturday’s must-win Guinness PRO14 Interpro derby against Connacht at Thomond Park (7.35pm).

Tickets are available to buy here.

Full matchday information can be found here.

There are four changes to the team that lined out against Saracens in last week’s Champions Cup semi-final.

Dan Goggin, named Young Player of the Year earlier this week, Calvin Nash, Stephen Archer and Chris Cloete all come into the side.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Nash on either flank.

Goggin partners up with Chris Farrell in the centres with the half-back pairing of Conor Murray and Tyler Bleyendaal unchanged.

Dave Kilcoyne and Niall Scannell pack down in the front row with Archer as locks Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne keep their places.

Player of the Year Peter O’Mahony captains Munster from the back row with Cloete and no.8 CJ Stander completing the starting XV.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Calvin Nash; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Arno Botha, Neil Cronin, JJ Hanrahan, Sammy Arnold.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the clash here.

Video | Press Pass

Munster Head Coach Johann van Graan, Sammy Arnold and Chris Cloete were all speaking to the media this week, hear the thoughts of the trio ahead of the clash below.

Next Game Details

Results depending the province could be back in Thomond Park on Saturday May 3rd for a Guinness PRO14 quarter-final at 3pm. Confirmed details will be known on Saturday night.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Set Up Benetton Quarter-Final

April 27, 2019 9:26 pm By The Editor

A view of the action at Thomond Park.

A view of the action at Thomond Park.

Munster secured a victory over Connacht at Thomond Park on Saturday night with Tadhg Beirne, Mike Haley and JJ Hanrahan touching down as Tyler Bleyendaal and Hanrahan were 100% off the tee with two penalties and three conversions between them.

The victory, coupled with with Glasgow’s win over Edinburgh at Scotstoun, saw Munster finish second in Conference A.

Beirne was awarded Man of the Match and Craig Casey, named Academy Player of the Year earlier this week, came off the bench to make his senior debut in the clash.

The province will face Benetton Rugby in the Guinness PRO14 quarter-final next Saturday, May 4, at Thomond Park (3pm).

Tickets for the game are available here and kids go free! (If you buy an adult ticket for the game, you can also order an additional two Junior tickets free of charge.)

A late change to the Munster side saw Conor Murray withdraw from the starting XV with Neil Cronin starting and Academy scrum-half Casey promoted to the bench for the first time.

Connacht had the first opportunity on 13 minutes but Conor Dean’s penalty drifted just wide after Munster were penalised for an offside.

Bleyendaal’s first penalty after 20 minutes gave Munster the lead after a Connacht offside and a brilliant Dan Goggin recovery tackle prevented a Connacht try after Kieran Marmion’s quick tap.

Connacht were off the mark on 24 minutes after Finlay Bealham finished well from close range with Dean’s conversion giving the visitors a 7-3 lead.

Munster were nearly in for a try when Andrew Conway intercepted Tiernan O’Halloran’s offload and crossed the line but former Munster man Stephen Fitzgerald raced back to tackle Conway from behind and force the knock-on.

Beirne scored a super Munster try just past the half hour when he burst through a gap in the Connacht defence off Neil Cronin’s flat pass and shimmied his way past Niyi Adeolokun to finish superbly.

Bleyendaal’s conversion gave Munster a 10-7 advantage.

Munster were in for a second try on 36 minutes and it was a great score with Conway playing a pivotal role. The winger broke clear down the right and released Peter O’Mahony into space with the flanker showing good pace and a precise pass inside for Haley to score.

Bleyendaal slotted the conversion for a 17-7 lead.

Munster were in total control of the first 15 minutes of the second half and Bleyendaal added his third penalty after 56 minutes to make it 20-7 following a deliberate knock-on from Bundee Aki.

Connacht took control as the game headed into the final quarter and Jeremy Loughman was yellow-carded for a scrum infringement after 68 minutes as the visitors piled on the pressure.

Eoin McKeon was over from close range on the 70th minute to get Connacht back in the game with Dean’s conversion narrowing the gap to six points as the game entered the final 10 minutes, 20-14.

14-man Munster recovered superbly and scored the killer try on 74 minutes as Hanrahan darted through a gap to touch down under the posts. Excellent work in the build-up from Conway and Billy Holland among others created the score. Hanrahan converted to cap off the victory.

Guinness PRO14 Round 21 Round-Up

Munster will face Benetton Rugby in a Guinness PRO14 quarter-final at Thomond Park on Saturday, May 4, at 3pm. Buy tickets here.

Tadhg Beirne was awarded Man of the Match.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell (Sammy Arnold, 67), Dan Goggin (Chris Farrell, 71), Calvin Nash; Tyler Bleyendaal (JJ Hanrahan, 67), Neil Cronin (Craig Casey, 75); Dave Kilcoyne (Jeremy Loughman, 52), Niall Scannell (Rhys Marshall, 67), Stephen Archer (John Ryan, 52); Jean Kleyn (Billy Holland, 67), Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete (Arno Botha, 67 (Kilcoyne, 68-78)), CJ Stander.

Video | Tyler Bleyendaal Interview

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups