DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Benetton

October 27, 2023 11:58 am By The Editor

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Benetton

Calvin Nash, who was a late withdrawal last week, has been named to start against Benetton this weekend. Photo Credit: Inpho

The Munster team has been named for the URC Round 2 clash with Benetton at the Stadio Monigo on Sunday (KO 2pm Irish time).

Head coach Graham Rowntree has made two changes to the starting side which earned a bonus-point 34-21 win over the Sharks in Thomond Park last weekend as Calvin Nash and John Hodnett come into the team.

There are three Academy players in the starting side with Shay McCarthy, Ethan Coughlan and Edwin Edogbo keeping their places from last week while Academy prop Kieran Ryan is named among the replacements.

Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron and Stephen Archer pack down in an unchanged front-row while Edogbo and Fineen Wycherley continue their partnership in the second-row.

Hodnett comes into the back-row at openside where he is joined by captain Jack O’Donoghue and Gavin Coombes.

Coughlan and Joey Carbery continue their half-back partnership while Rory Scannell and Antoine Frisch form an unchanged centre combination.

Shane Daly continues at full-back while Nash, who was a late withdrawal last week, comes into the side on the the left wing while McCarthy moves to the other flank.

There are three changes to the replacements from last week with Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson and Sean O’Brien included. New signing O’Brien is in line for his Munster debut.

On the injury front, Paddy Patterson came through training over the past number of weeks with no issues and returns to the squad.

Patterson was unavailable after sustaining a knee injury in training last season and is set for his first appearance since March.

Andrew Conway was not available for selection after picking up a knock and will be assessed by the medical department.

Munster: Shane Daly; Shay McCarthy, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Kieran Ryan, John Ryan, Tom Ahern, Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson, Alex Nankivell, Sean O’Brien.

Press Pass

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Snatch Draw Against Benetton

October 29, 2023 5:19 pm By The Editor

Joey Carbery offloads to Tom Ahern.

Joey Carbery offloads to Tom Ahern. Inpho

A last minute Tom Ahern try, converted by Joey Carbery, snatched an unlikely draw for Munster away to Benetton in Treviso on Sunday afternoon.

The hosts led for the majority of the game with Munster unable to make a breakthrough due to a combination of good Benetton defence and inaccurate play.

Munster trailed 13-3 after 72 minutes but a Carbery penalty reduced the arrears before Ahern’s close-range finish in the final play saw Graham Rowntree’s men do just enough to maintain their unbeaten start to the URC.

There was one change to the side announced on Friday. Josh Wycherley dropped out due to a knock with Kieran Ryan making his first start for Munster as Mark Donnelly came into the squad on the bench for his first appearance of the season.

Calvin Nash and John Hodnett started on their first games of the campaign with Seán O’Brien making his Munster debut off the bench as Paddy Patterson returned from a long-term knee injury.

Neither side were able to gain the upper hand early on with almost the entire opening 30 minutes spent in midfield.

Two longe-range Jacob Umaga penaties had given Benetton a 6-3 lead with Carbery replying for Munster.

The hosts started to turn the screw in the latter stages of the first half and deservedly led 13-3 at half-time when Rhyno Smith glided over for the first try.

Munster seized the initiative after the break and looked much more threatening but time and time again, the Benetton defence came up trumps with the hosts’ scrum also earning them a number of penalties.

The Munster replacements made a good impact with Nankivell carrying strongly but with the clock ticking into the final 10 minutes, the hosts were still in a strong position with a 10-point lead.

When Munster were awarded a penalty under the posts with seven minutes to go, we took the sensible option and Carbery kicked the points to make it a seven-point game with seven minutes to go.

Benetton looked to have survived after winning a breakdown penalty with four minutes left but Jack O’Donoghue got up to steal the lineout and Munster were still alive.

A Benetton transgression saw Carbery kick to the corner and although Gavin Coombes’ effort was ruled out by the TMO, Ahern finished expertly with the clock in the red and Carbery kicked the extras to secure the two points.

Musgrave Park hosts its first game of the season on Saturday as Munster take on Dragons in round three of the URC with a 5.15pm kick-off. Buy tickets here.

URC Round 2 Round-Up

Seán O’Brien made his Munster debut.

Paddy Patterson returned from a long-term knee injury for his first appearance since March.

There were five Munster Rugby Academy players included in the squad with Kieran Ryan making his first start for Munster: Shay McCarthy, Ethan Coughlan, Edwin Edogbo and Mark Donnelly also featured.

Munster: Shane Daly; Shay McCarthy (Seán O’Brien, 53), Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell (Alex Nankivell, 49), Calvin Nash; Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan ( Paddy Patterson, 51); Kieran Ryan (Mark Donnelly, 64), Diarmuid Barron (Scott Buckley, 64), Stephen Archer (John Ryan, 49); Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley (Tom Ahern,  56); Jack O’Donoghue (C), John Hodnett (Alex Kendellen, 49), Gavin Coombes.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups