DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Upsets in Avonmore Milk Schools Semi Finals

5th March 2009 By Munster Rugby

Upsets in Avonmore Milk Schools Semi Finals

There were shocks in both the Avonmore Milk Schools Senior and Junior Cup semi finals with Rockwell advancing to the Senior decider on March 15th and Pres’ beating arch rivals Christians in their replay.

Rockwell 14, St. Munchin’s 5.
Unfancied Rockwell are through to the final of the Avonmore Milk School’s Senior Cup at Musgrave Park after knocking out a fancied St. Munchin’s side at Clanwilliam Park.

All the scores came in the opening half. Out half JJ Hanrahan opened the scoring with a try for Rockwell after ten minutes and Paul McEvoy converted.

Hanrahan was in for his second try on twenty six minutes and again McEvoy converted.

Munchin’s got their only score a try on the stroke of half from their skipper Ger Burke but some sloppy play by the Limerick side saw Rockwell hold out for a famous victory.

Scorers: Rockwell: JJ Hanrahan 2 tries, Paul McEvoy 2 conversions,

St Munchin’s: G Burke try.

Rockwell:Paul McEvoy; Kenneth O’Dwyer, Gavin Ryan, Brian Smith, Ross Mullane; JJ Hanrahan, Ethan Ahearne; Tom Doyle, Luke O’Donnell, Brendan Cullinane; Shane O’Flynn, Shane Buckley; Stephen Maguire, James Nolan, Paddy Butler (capt).

Replacements:Cian o’Donnell fro Doyle 40, William O’Connor for O’Dwyer 70.

Referee:John Lacey (M.A.R)

C.B.C. 5, P.B.C. 7.
There was a big upset in the Avonmore Milk Schools Junior Cup semi final replay at the excellent C.I.T. grounds when P.B.C. overcame C.B.C. in a closely contested game.

Like last week’s dramatic finish at Temple Hill, there was more excitement in the closing stages of this game as Christians eventually breeched the Pres’ defence in the final minute to score and needed the conversion which was just to the right of the posts to send the game into extra time., but Eoin Geary’s effort, his first of the game, drifted wide of the target.

It was Pres’ who learned more from last week’s game, as their pack showed a big improvement. They totally dominated the line outs where Ross McCarthy ruled the roost and in the loose skipper John Fitzgerald led by example and had great support from Denis Keohane and Ian Silke.

Christians set their stall out from the kick off opting to play it tight where Matthew Curtin and Charlie Slowey were prominent. Once Pres’ contained the initial onslaught they worked their way into the game with out half Rory Scannell and Seamus Glynn always looking threatening when some decisive breaks.

Despite dominating the opening half territorially, the Mardyke College never looked like breeching the Christians defence.

Indeed Christians will feel very aggrieved with the referring that led to the Pres’ try that came three minutes before the break.

Glynn launched a long kick from just inside the Christians half, the ball went over the dead ball line and when full back Niall Griffin came out with ball, he was bundled into touch. Neither the touch judge or referee spotted the ball going dead and instead of awarding the Sydney Hill a scrum on their ten meter line; Pres had a line out five metres from the line.

They moved the ball quickly across the back line and a break by Glynn set up Steven Dinan to touch down. Dinan added the difficult conversion for a 7-0 lead at the break.

Christians started the second half in blistering fashion with a great break by Andrew Joyce looked like setting up a try for John McCarthy, but Fitzgerald came across to snuff out the danger.

Christians cause was not helped when Rob O’Dowling was sent to the sin bin on thirty four minutes. Pres’ tried to play a running game and many times winger Darragh O’Connor looked like he would out run the Christians defence only to be bundled into touch.

Dinan was just off target with two penalty attempts on 37 and 38 minutes.

Christians raised their game in the final ten minutes as their pack took control and brought play into the Pres’ Twenty Two. Pres’ were reduced to fourteen when William Foley was shown a yellow card.

Geary looked like he was in for a try for Christians but a five meter scrum was awarded. Eventually O’Dowling barged his way over for a try in the last minute just tot eh right of the posts, but unfortunately for the Sydney Hill College the conversion attempt failed.

Scorers: C.B.C.: R O’Dowling try.
P.B.C.: S Dinan try, con,

C.B.C: Niall Griffin; John McCarthy, Andrew Joyce, Cian O’Halloran, Adam McCarthy; Dave O’Riordan, Eoin Geary; Rory Burke, Charlie Slowey (capt), Jack Corbett; Eoin Ahern, Abraham Cashman; Shane Burke, Colin Martin, Rob O’Dowling. Replacements: Daire O’Brien for Cashman 42, Pat Leahy for Corbett 44, Shane Galvan for Ahern 55.

P.B.C.: Steven Dinan; Alan Cremin, Seamus Glynn, Gavin O’Callaghan, Darragh O’Connor; Rory Scannell, Philip O’Leary; Matthew Curtin, Denis Keohane, Ryan Callanan; Hugh O’Halloran, Ross McCarthy; Ian Silke, William Foley, John Fitzgerald (capt).
Replacements: David Evans for O’Leary 27, Brian Crowley for O’Halloran 55.

Referee: Dave O’Flynn (M.A.R.)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster secured a hard-earned 26-29 bonus-point win against Edinburgh to secure a home quarter-final with one game of the regular season to go. It was...