DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

U.C.C. lose All Ireland Division 2 Play off Final

10th May 2009 By Munster Rugby

U.C.C. lose All Ireland Division 2 Play off Final

Ballynahinch won their fourth title of the season when they won the AIB All Ireland Division Two League Play Off title to go with the All Ireland Senior Cup along with the Ulster Senior Cup and League trophies with a deserved win over U.C.C at Dooradoyle.

The game began with a flurry of tries with each side scoring two inside the opening quarter of the game. College opened the scoring with a try from Ivan Dineen after five minutes which Gavin Dunne converted, but the Co. Down side were level on thirteen minutes when skipper Johnny Cullen touched down and Ryan Bambry converted.
A forward drive by College saw hooker Wayne Falvey touch down to restore the lead two minutes later. Aaron Ferris had the sides level again with a try and Bambry’s conversion came back off the upright.
A drop goal and two penalties by Dunne put the students 21-12 ahead and a Bambry penalty left the Cork side six points ahead at the break.
It was all Ballynahinch in the second half as they held College scoreless. Neill Hanna closed the gap to a point with a try and Bambry put his side ahead with a penalty.
A fourth try by Nevin Spence on fifty eight minutes made it 28-21 for Ballynahinch and despite a few efforts by College; the Ulster side were in full control for a deserved victory in this their thirty eighth game of the season.

Scorers Ballynahinch: J Cullen, A Ferris, N Hanna, N Spence tries, R Bambry 2 pens, 1 con,
U.C.C.: I Dineen, W Falvey tries, G Dunne 2 pens, 1 drp gl, 1 con

Ballynahinch: J Cullen; A Ferris, N Spence, D Nicholson, N McBriar; R Bambry, H McAleese; C Stevenson, N Hanna, J Cronin; J Gunson, C Napier; P Orr, R McBride, Graham. Replacements:D McGreggor for Orr 53, L Johnston for McBride 48.

U.C.C.:S Deasy; P Shallow, A Kelleher, I Dineen, C Crowley; G Dunne, S Cronin; R O’Neill, W Falvey, S Archer; N Keogh, I Nagle; D O’Callaghan, S O’Sullivan, R Barry. Replacements:J Moynihan for Falvey, W O’Donovan for Archer both 60, J Ryan for O’Sullivan 61, D Barnes for Crowley 66, E Nugent for Keogh 75.

Referee: P Fitzgibbon (IRFU).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster squad are preparing at the HPC ahead of Friday's URC round seven clash against the Glasgow Warriors at Musgrave Park (7.35pm). Buy match...