DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Six Nations Glory for Ireland U20s

21st March 2010 By Munster Rugby

Six Nations Glory for Ireland U20s

The Ireland U20s were crowned the RBS 6 Nations Under 20 Champions over the weekend after another successful night in Dubarry Park, defeating Scotland 44-15.

Ireland had to wait on the England v France result to be declared Champions on Sunday, and with England defeating France 47-31, the points margin stood in Ireland’s favour.

Ireland Under 20 Coach Allen Clarke spoke of his delight at winning the championship, "We are delighted to be champions. The win on Friday night over Scotland showcased the attitude and talent of the squad and to win the Championship is a tribute to the work ethic of the players and coaching staff.”

“We can now look forward to the Junior World Championship in Argentina in June and build on the work we have done here."

Seven Munster players were involved in this year’s 6 Nations Ireland U20s squad – Dave O’Callaghan (UCC), Patrick Butler (Shannon), Bryan Cagney (UCC), Brian Hayes (Cork Con), Simon Zebo (Cork Con), Duncan Casey (Shannon) and Gareth Quinn McDonogh (Shannon).

2010 RBS 6 Nations Results:
Ireland 39 Italy 0
France 20 Ireland 15
England 10 Ireland 25
Ireland 24 Wales 17
Ireland 44 Scotland 15


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster came back from 17-7 down to score 31 unanswered points for a vital 38-17 victory away to Edinburgh on Friday night. It was an...