DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Pres to meet Rockwell in Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Final

11th March 2010 By Munster Rugby

Pres to meet Rockwell in Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Final

P.B.C. 30, St. Munchin’s 3.

P.B.C. are through to a meeting with Rockwell College in this season’s Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Final on St. Patrick’s Day at Thomond Park after a comprehensive win in their replayed semi final at the Mardyke.

It is a big ask for Pres’ to play three big games in eleven days but that is the task facing the Mardyke School, if they are to win their twenty eighth title and join their near neighbours C.B.C. at the top of the honours list.

St. Munchin’s will be very disappointed with this result, especially as they dominated the opening half but failed to put points on the board for all the possession they enjoyed.

Pres’ got off to a great start with both Rob O’Herlihy and David O’Mahony dominating the line out and the Cork side found themselves ahead after five minutes when following a scrum on the Munchin’s Twenty Two, lock Cathal O’Flaherty broke and linked up with Daniel Horgan who sent winger Eoghan Dennehy in at the corner for a 5-0 lead.

Gradually Munchin’s began to get into the game. John Sherin and Keith McManus were putting pressure on the Pres’ defence and one telling run by winger Paul Curtis saw Ross Caplice bundle him into touch short of the line.

Munchin’s were awarded kickable penalties but opted for touch and eventually on twenty five minutes Brian Mullins opened the Limerick College’s account with a penalty.

Eventually Pres’ lifted the siege and worked the ball up field in the fourth minute of stoppage time after a series of drives at the Munchin’s line, hooker Brian Vaughan was credited with a try in the corner and Murphy converted for a 12-3 interval lead.

Two penalties in the opening minutes of the second half by Murphy extended Pres’s lead and that really ended the game as a contest.

Daniel Horgan cut through the Munchin’s defence on fifty minutes to score Pres’s third try and eleven minutes from time Dennehy got in for his second try and Murphy converted.

The game than petered out as tired limbs began to take an affect on both sides and now Pres’ will turn their attention to regaining the trophy after a three year lapse.

Scorers P.B.C.:Eoghan Dennehy 2 tries, Brian Vaughan, Daniel Horgan tries, Sean Og Murphy 2 pens, 2 cons.
St. Munchin’s: Brian Mullins pen.

P.B.C.: Seamus Glynn; Ross Caplice, Jack Costigan, Daniel Horgan, Eoghan Dennehy; Sean Og Murphy, Ronan Barry; Coran Keane, Brian Vaughan, Niall Scannell; Rob O’Herlihy, Dave O’Mahony; Ryan Murphy, Jack Duffy, Cathal O’Flaherty.

St. Munchin’s: Brian Mullins; Conor Cunnane, Lukcas Kuntz, Eamon Carr, Paul Curtis; Jack Murray, Darren Ryan; Shane Gavin, Eimhin Hogan, James McGovern; Evan Ryan, Gavin Ryan; John Sherin, Keith McManus, Tom Goggin (capt);

Referee: Darragh McCormack (M.A.R.)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster secured a hard-earned 26-29 bonus-point win against Edinburgh to secure a home quarter-final with one game of the regular season to go. It was...