DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Juniors Name Squad For Leinster

24th April 2013 By Munster Rugby

Munster Juniors Name Squad For Leinster

A fantastic year for Munster Junior Rugby is winding down and with that the final squad announcement for the 2013 Interprovincial series.

A fantastic year for Munster Junior Rugby is winding down and with that the final squad announcement for the 2013 Interprovincial series.

Courtesy of:- Stephen Collins

Over the next three weeks the best players from across the junior club scene in Ireland will go head to head and after last year’s bitter disappointing defeat to Connacht the Munster Juniors will be looking to go one better this time"Greg around.

Only nine of the 2012 squad remain in the panel and thirteen junior clubs from across the province will be represented.

It will come as no surprise that Kanturk contribute to the bulk of the squad with seven players lining out, while league leaders Richmond may have had a similar contribution only for their round robin and Junior Cup success they are unavailable.

Dan McCabe of Kanturk will captain the side after leading his club to Challenge Cup success and he and his squad are targeting a home win against a talented Leinster side.

The Leinster Juniors will comprise of representatives from the AIL Cup Champions and round robin outright winners Tullamore RFC and their presence will be a huge boost to the side.

Team Manager Tony Daly knows Leinster can adapt their style of play but is confident in this year’s panel, “We are happy with the final squad, it was a difficult process with so many players to choose from but the end result is what we were looking for”.

The opening game takes place against Leinster this Saturday in Limerick at St. Mary’s RFC, ko 2.30pm.

Fixtures 2013 Junior Interprovincial Series:

Munster v Leinster – St Marys RFC, April 27th ko 2:30pm
Ulster v Munster – Coleraine RFC, May 4th ko 2:30pm
Connacht v Munster – Ballinasloe RFC, May 11th ko 2:30pm

Forwards: Brian O’Neill (Kanturk), Declan Moloney (Newcastle West), Barry Kelly (St Marys), Patrick Ryan (St Senans), Mike Cronin (Castleisland), Martin Muldoon (Muskerry), Gareth Mulcahy (Clonmel), Barra Buckley (Kanturk), Stephen Burke (Galbally), Rory O’Donnell (St Marys), Dan McCabe Capt. (Kanturk), Ger Luby* (Kilfeacle), Dave O’Donoghue (Waterpark), Gary Piggot (Kanturk), Kevin Allen (Cobh Pirates), Brian Downey (St Marys).

Backs: Stuart Lee (Old Christians), Mark Chandler (Cobh Pirates), Ben Martin (Clonmel), Darach Meade (Kanturk), Luke McCabe (Kanturk), Darren O’Keeffe (Crosshaven), Eoin Duffy (Waterpark), Rob Carroll (Clonmel), Greg Carroll (Clonmel), Peter Earlie (Kanturk), Tommy Kelleher (Newcastle West), Conor Cooney (Clonmel).

Coaching and Management Team: John O’Neil (Head Coach), Christy Nealon (Forwards), Dermot O’Sullivan (Backs), Ray Gadsen (Technical Assistance), Tony Daly (Team Manager), Stephen Mulvahill (Physio), Kevin O’Dwyer (Selector), Christy McNamara (Selector), Liam Lannon (Selector), Steve Collins (Media).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are now inviting applications for two part-time Women’s Rugby Participation Officers. See full details and apply below. The province is also recruiting for...