DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Line up completed for Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Semi Finals

10th February 2010 By Munster Rugby

Line up completed for Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Semi Finals

The line up for this season’s Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup semi finals was completed with victories for P.B.C., Rockwell and St. Munchin’s.

Crescent College Comp 10, St. Munchin’s 11.
A shock at Dooradoyle as St. Munchin’s came from 10-3 down at half time to edge out their old rivals Crescent College Comprehensive in an exciting contest.
A try by Tom Ryan and a conversion and drop goal by Shane O’Brien had Crescent leading at half time. Jack Murray kicked a penalty for the Corbally College.
A second penalty by Murray ten minutes into the second half reduced the deficit and with ten minutes remaining hooker Eimhin Hogan got in for a try to put Munchin’s a point in front.
Crescent rallied but a determined Munchin’s defence held firm.
Scorers Crescent College Comp.: Tom Ryan try, Shane O’Brien con, drop goal.
St. Munchin’s: Eimhin Hogan try, jack Murray 2 pens.
Crescent College Comp.: Larry Hanley; Brian Murphy; Darragh O’Doherty, Shane McNamara, Brian Walsh; Shane O’Brien, Peter Coffey; John Randles (capt), Luke Malone, Neil Darcy; Padraig Monoghan, Sean Monoghan; Cian Russell, Kevin O’Shea, Eoghan Cross.
St. Munchin’s: Brian Mullins; Paul Curtis, Lukcas Kunz, Eamon Carr, Conor Cunnane; Jack Murray, Darren Ryan; Shane Gavin, Eimhin Hogan, James McGovern; Evan Ryan, Gavin Ryan; John Sherin, Keith McManus, Tom Goggin (capt);
Referee: Olly Hodges (M.A.R.)

Rockwell College 19, Ard Scoil Ris 8.
Last year’s beaten finalists Rockwell are through to the last four of this season’s competition after a hard earned victory over Ard Scoil Ris at Clanwilliam Park.
Ross Mullane opened the scoring with a try for Rockwell after twenty four minutes which JJ Hanrahan converted, but three minutes before the break Jamie Gavin slotted over a penalty for the Limerick school.
Two tries by number 8 Luke Cahill in the second half, put the game beyond Ard Scoil Ris. The first came mid way through the half and the second two minutes from time, with Hanrahan converting the first.
Ard Scoil rallied in the closing stages and were rewarded with a try by Peter McCann.
Scorers Rockwell College: Luke Cahill 2 tries, Ross Mullane try, JJ Hanrahan 2 cons.
Ard Scoil Ris: Peter McCann try, Jamie Gavin pen.
Rockwell: Brian O’Rahilly; Shaun Horgan, Harry McNulty, Donagh McGillicuddy, Ross Mullane; JJ Hanrahan, Tim Rafferty; Tom Doyle, Richard Moran, Cian O’Donnell; Stephen Maguire, Sean McCarthy; Shane Buckley (capt), Joseph Maher, Luke Cahill.
Ard Scoil Ris: Mark Leonard; Mike Russell, Jimmy McGarry (capt), Eoin Commane, Rory Collins; Jamie Gavin, Alex Griffin; Eamon Canny, Marcus Fitzgibbon, Ronan McMahon; Stephen Brinn, Paul O’Sullivan; Jonathon O’Toole, Kevin Walsh, Peter McCann.
Referee: Ger English (M.A.R.)

P.B.C. 27, Bandon Grammar 9.
Bandon Grammar are out of this season’s Avonmore Milk Schools after being defeated by Presentation Brothers College at Temple Hill.
The West Cork School can be very proud of their contribution as they were no way out of their depth when they faced two of the top schools during their five game run.
A penalty by Pres’ out half Sean Og Murphy in the opening minute went wide of the posts, but following the restart the Pres’ pack charged up to the Bandon line and Rob O’Herlihy touched down.
Bandon lost their inspirational skipper James Bendon after five minutes and further disaster struck the West Cork side minutes later when a clearance inside his own Twenty Two by Bandon full back Conor Pullin was gathered by Pres’ winger Ross Caplis and he went in touch down under the posts and Murphy converted for a 12-0 lead.
To their credit Bandon did not drop their heads and began to work their way into to the game with some excellent work by Henry Travers and Sam Hunter. Two penalties by out half Darren Sweetnam and one by Murphy left the Mardyke College 15-6 ahead at the break.
Pres’ dominated the opening stages of the second half and Cathal O’Flaherty broke from a scrum close to the line, but the Bandon defence held firm. Pres did take the lead on forty one minutes when a great break by Murphy set up a gap for Seamus Glynn to cut through and touch down and Murphy added the extras.
However some long kicks by Sweetnam kept Pres’ on the back foot but his side were unable to get into scoring positions and had to rely on a third penalty from Sweetnam to increase their tally. Bandon’s scrum half Jack Robinson began to come into his own with some clever runs and linked up well with his pack, while Pullin also caught the eye with some darting runs out of defence.
Pres’ gained control in the final minutes and after O’Flaherty and David O’Mahony came close to scoring, quick ball out the line saw Caplice go in for his second try but in fairness to Bandon they finished the game deep in the Pres’ Twenty Two in search of a try.
Scorers P.B.C.: Ross Caplice 2 tries, Rob O’Herlihy, Seamus Glynn tries, Sean Og Murphy 2 cons, 1 pen.
Bandon Grammar: Darren Sweetnam 3 pens.
P.B.C.: Pat Deasy; Ross Caplice, Jack Costigan, Seamus Glynn Eoghan Dennehy; Sean Og Murphy, Ronan Barry; Coran Keane, Brian Vaughan, Niall Scannell; Rob O’Herlihy, Dave O’Mahony; Brian Carroll, Jack Duffy, Cathal O’Flaherty.
Replacements: Kieran Ryan for Jack Duffy 42, Killian Kingston for Brian Carroll 54, Eoin O’Shaughnessy for Ronan Barry 64, Brian Scott for Brian Vaughan, Brian Coughlan for Coran Keane both 69.
Bandon Grammar: Conor Pullin; Robbie Skuse, Conor Stallard, William Godsil, Conor Moloney; Darren Sweetnam, Joe Robinson; Sam McElroy, Neill Willoughby, Scot Kingston; Andrew Tanner, David Reynolds; James Bendon (capt), Sam Hunter, Harry Travers.
Replacements: Eanna Tyrell for James Bendon 5, Laurence Pybus for Scott Kingston, Derek Boyd for Conor Moloney both 69.
Referee: Barry O’Connell (MAR).

Munster Rugby would like to thank the following for their help with this article Paul O’Connor, Thomas Duggan, Cian Scott, Art O’Connor, Sean Ryan and Kevin Long.

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup:
Crescent College Comp. 10, St. Munchin’s 11;
P.B.C. 27, Bandon Grammar 9;
Rockwell 19, Ard Scoil Ris 8.

Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Semi Finals:
Rockwell v Castletroy College;
St. Munchin’s v P.B.C.
Dates, times and venues to be confirmed.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster’s Ireland internationals have all commenced their pre-season training programmes at the HPC. Tadhg Beirne, Joey Carbery, Craig Casey, Gavin Coombes, Keith Earls, Jeremy Loughman,...