DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Junior Rugby Roundup

27th April 2009 By Munster Rugby

Junior Rugby Roundup

Galbally win Munster Junior League Division Three title

After thirty six years Galbally won their first provincial title when they defeated St. Mary’s 43-3 at Kilfeacle to become Third Division League champions.
They did it in style running in six tries with Liam Casey and Tony Hennebry getting two tries each and Owen Bourke and Kevin Casey also crossing the line. Liam Casey kicked five conversions and a penalty. Barry Gibbons replied with a penalty for the Corbally side.

Waterford City have booked their place in the final of the Martin O’Sullivan Cup Final after their 22-6 home win over Killarney. David Whelan, Sean O’Mahony, Liam McCarthy and Dale Ryan scored tries for the winners and Conor Power added one conversion. Sean Hickey replied with two penalties for the visitors.

The other semi final tie between Castleisland and Carrick-on-Suir was called off due to an unplayable pitch.

Garryowen booked their place in the final of the Junior Two League Cup after they defeated Bandon 20-10 at Dooradoyle. Dave Pomeroy and Dave McInerney scored tries for the Light Blues and Bob Sheehan converted both and also added a penalty and a drop goal. Bandon replied with a try from Conor Desmond and a conversion and penalty by Kevin Brophy.

U.C.C. received a walk over from Cashel in the other semi final and so this season’s final will be a repeat of last year’s decider which the students won.

Shannon and Garryowen played a 3-3 draw in the semi final of the Webb Cup and will replay this week with Cashel awaiting the winners in the final.

Muskerry won the Paul Twomey Cup with a 43-10 victory over Carrigaline at Musgrave Park. John Taite gave Carrigaline a great start with a try after two minutes, but it was all the Mid Cork side after that with Denis O’Sullivan scoring two tries and Liam O’Donovan, Eoin Ronayne, Mark Healy, Dan Horgan and Eoin Corcoran getting one apiece. Darragh Masterson kicked four conversions. Conor Cunningham also scored a try for the losers late in the game.

Having lost to Bantry Bay 19-9 in the Kelly Cup semi final last Thursday night, Skibbereen bounced back in Tralee to defeat Corca Dhuibhne 10-3 in the final of the Mick Barry Cup. Mark Kingston gave the West Cork side a 3-0 half time lead with a penalty and he than converted a try by Finbarr O’Brien. Johnny Curran kicked a penalty for the West Kerry Gaeltacht side.

Mallow defeated Listowel 36-19 to win the Junior Four Cup in a game that was also played at Tralee. David Walsh, Eoin Glynn, Richard Dorgan, Hugh Kenna, Donal Lucey and Anthony Barrett all scored tries for the winners and Dorgan added three conversions.

There are several finals down for decision over the coming days.

At Musgrave Park tonight holders Skibbereen will defend their O’Neill Cup title against Kinsale in a game that kicks off at 7.00pm.

On Wednesday night U.C.C. and Cork Constitution clash in the Final of the Junior Two Cup at Musgrave Park at 7.00.

There are four finals down for decision on Thursday night. At Musgrave Park holders Cobh Pirates face Skibbereen in the Cork County Cup Final which is a repeat of last season’s decider.
Galbally face Newport at Kilfeacle in the Garryowen Cup, Bantry Bay and Ballincollig meet in the Kelly Cup final at Bandon and at Ballydavid, Corca Dhuibhne and Tralee meet in the Galwey Foley Cup Final.

AIB All Ireland League Division 1 Semi Finals:Cork Constitution 6,Clontarf 25;
Shannon 16,Garryowen 12;

Division 2 Semi Final:U.C.C. 31,Old Crescent 3;

Division 2:Ballynahinch 66,Highfield 3;

Division 3 Semi Finals:Corinthians 29,Midleton 14;
Old Wesley 38,Queens University 25;

AIB All Ireland League Division 3 Play Off:Sunday’s Well 20,Cashel 3;

Junior Inter Provincial:Munster 9,Leinster 10;

Munster Junior League Division 3 Final:Galbally 43,St. Mary’s 3;

Martin O’Sullivan Cup Semi Final:Waterford City 22,Killarney 6;

Cork County Cup Semi Final:Old Christians 10.Skibbereen 17;

Munster Junior 2 League Semi Final:Garryowen 20,Bandon 10;

Webb Cup Semi Final:Shannon 3,Garryowen 3;

Paul Twomey Cup Final:Muskerry 43,Carrigaline 10;

Mick Barry Cup:Corca Dhuibhne 3,Skibbereen 10;

Junior 4 Cup Final:Listowel 19,Mallow 36;

Kelly Cup Semi Final:Skibbereen 9,Bantry Bay 19;

Ballyrandle Cup Final:Dungarvan 10,Clonmel 28;

South Under 18 Cup Final:Bandon 3,Highfield 8;

South Under 16 Cup Final:Crosshaven 14,Highfield 26;

South Under 16 Plate Semi Finals:Dunmanway 10,Cobh Pirates 3;

South Under 16 B Plate Semi Final:Old Christians 27,Bantry Bay 12;

South Under 14 Cup Final:Bandon 0,Sunday’s Well 19;

North Under 18 Cup Semi Final:Newcastle West 6,Ennis 6;

North Under 15 Quarter Final:Newcastle West 34,Bruff 10;
Semi Final:Garryowen 26,Newcastle West 26aet;

North Under 14 Quarter Final:Newcastle West 45, Kilrush 10;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster ran in six tries to oust Glasgow Warriors in an entertaining BTK United Rugby Championship contest in front of a full house at Musgrave...