DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Irish Colleges Squad

24th February 2009 By Munster Rugby

Irish Colleges Squad

Irish Colleges and England Students have both announced their squads to play the second Student International match on Friday 27th February at City of Derry Rugby Football Club, ko 7.30pm.

The Irish Colleges squad have made seven changes in personnel from their recent squad that was recently defeated 18 points to 3 by the French Students in Balbriggan RFC.

Both sides have a long history of producing International players and there should be a number of future Internationals on show in Derry on Friday. The present English International team have three former England Students in their ranks Harry Ellis, Andrew Sheridan and Nick Easter who played against Wales recently.

The current Irish Internationals who have played for the Irish Colleges in the past include Marcus Horan, Donnacha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Jamie Heaslip, Denis Leamy and David Wallace.

Irish Colleges Squad Forwards:
Mike Storey (UL/ULBohemians),
Rob Sweeney (SBS/St Mary’s), Mark Hamilton (DIT/Terenure), Cian Culleton (Sallynoggin FE/Blackrock), Batt Duggan (Garda Colllege/UL Bohs), Robin Copeland (DBS/St.Marys) , Ben Reilly (DCU/Suttonians) ,David Houston (PSNI/City of Derry),John Downey (Sallynoggin FE/Greystones),John Dever (Garda College/Terenure College) ,Andrew Kerr (UUJ/Rainey),Eoghan Nihill (Blackhall PLC/Wanderers)
Sean Treacy (DCU/Clontarf), Andrew Semple (UUJ/City of Derry) , Brian Collins (IT Blanchardstown/Old Belveder), Mark O’Connor (UUJ/City of Derry), Sean Joyce (NUIG/Connemara),Lorcan Kavanagh (DCU/Lansdowne), Kevin Lynch (CSN/Dolphin), Craig Morrin (ITTallaght/St.Marys College),Daragh Fanning (IT Tallagh/St Mary’s),Mark Geraghty (DCU/Greystones) ,Paul Harte (Athlone IT/Buccaneers)

England Students Squad Forwards:
Billy Moss (Exeter),Jon Moyce (VC) (St Mary’s), James Hall (Liverpool ),Andy Bridgemen (Bristol), Adrian Griffiths (Bath) ,Ian Kench (Oxford) ,Ben Maidment ((Durham), Simon Pitfield( Loughborough ),Rob Wood (Loughborough) ,Tom Malaney (Cambridge )Adam Bellamy (Bristol), Tom Fidler (Bath)
Backs: Grant Pointer (Loughborough ),Toby Henry (Oxford )Sean Morris( Oxford ),Phil Ellis (captain) (Hertfordshire ),Dave Butler (Bristol), Drew Locke(Northumbria) ,Paul Trendall (Loughborough) ,William Nelson (Nottingham ), Rob Springhall (Nottingham ),Alan Awcock (UWIC)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

We are looking forward to welcoming you to Thomond Park on Saturday evening for our URC semi-final clash with Glasgow Warriors (6pm). We have seen...