DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

AIB All Ireland League Roundup

3rd April 2010 By Munster Rugby

AIB All Ireland League Roundup

Cork Constitution secured a home semi final place in the Division 1 play offs as Bruff gained promotion to the First Division and Highfield are relegated to the Third Division after Old Crescent stun champions Lansdowne at Rosbrien.

Cork Constitution moved back to the top of Division 1A of the AIB All Ireland League with a 35-5 away win over U.L. Bohemian at Annacotty. A result that means the Limerick side will be relegated to Division 1B next season.
Tries by Stephen Archer and Richard Lane both converted by Lane gave the visitors a 14-0 interval lead.
Replacement scrum half Dave O’Driscoll extended Con’s lead and Tom Gleeson made sure of a bonus point with a fourth try two minutes from time. Harry de Stacpoole scored a consolation try for the home side before Lane scored his second try and converted to secure top spot for the Temple Hill side.
Scorers U.L. Bohemian: Harry de Stacpoole try,
Cork Constitution: Richard Lane 2 tries, 5 cons, Stephen Archer, Tom Gleeson, David O’Driscoll tries.
U.L. Bohemian: Danny Riordan; Cian Aherne, Martin McPhail, Dan Kelly, Dave Moloney; Fergal Lawlor, Paul Rowley; Dave Kilcoyne, Eddie Rossiter, Pa O’Regan, Dave Foley, Mark Feely, Kieran O’Gorman, Tommy O’Donnell, Noel Kinnane.
Replacements: Kevin Flanagan, Mike Storey, Ian Condell, Harry de Stacpoole, Mark Doyle, Podge Hogan.
Cork Constitution: Scott Deasy; Richie Lane, Tom Gleeson, Evan Ryan, Cronan Healy; Daragh Lyons, Alex Ryan; Martin Gately, Robert Quinn, Stephen Archer, Ian Nagle, Merle O’Connell, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Frank Cogan.
Replacement: David O’Driscoll.
Referee: David Keane (IRFU)

Garryowen’s hopes of making the play offs ended when they lost for the second successive week at Dooradoyle when Blackrock College defeated them 18-11 but the bonus point secured by Garryowen means they will be playing in Division 1A next season and that either Clontarf or Blackrock College will be joining U.L. Bohemian in the Division 1B next season.
This win means that Blackrock College have a five point advantage over Clontarf and a superior points difference and this should be enough to keep Blackrock in the top section next season.
Blackrock led 11-0 at half time with a try from Andrew Conway and two penalties by Darragh Fitzpatrick. Mick Carroll extended the visitor’s lead with a try which Ian Madigan converted.
Gerry Hurley kicked two penalties for the Light Blues and a late try by Frank McKenna secured a bonus point for the home side.
Scorers Garryowen: Frank McKenna try, Gerry Hurley 2 pens
Blackrock College: Tries: Andrew Conway, Mick Carroll tries, Ian Madigan con, Darragh Fitzpatrick 2 pens.
Garryowen: Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Hanley, Conan Doyle (capt), Kevin Hartigan, Alan Gaughan; Gerry Hurley, Conor Murray; Rory Brosnan, Mike Sherry, Declan Lavery, Frank McKenna, Ed Mackey, Mark Melbourne, Anthony Kavanagh, Paul Neville.
Replacements: Darren Kavanagh, JP Cooney, Aaron McCloskey, Conor Hartigan, Lorcan Bourke.
Blackrock College: Andrew Conway; Stanley McDowell, Kyle Tonetti, Darragh Fitzpatrick, Shane Monahan; Ian Madigan, David Moore; Shane Cahill, Richard Strauss, Kyle Cahill, Des Dillon (capt), Alex Dunlop, Paul Ryan, Zack Farivarz, Mike Carroll.
Referee: George Clancy (IRFU)

Six years ago Bruff were crowned Munster Junior league winners and AIB All Ireland Round Robin champions and now they will be playing in the First Division next season after they defeated Malone 28-27 in an exciting tie at Kilballyowen Park to gain promotion from Division 2.
Skipper Brian Cahill slotted over an injury time penalty to give the County Limerick side victory in front of a very enthusiastic home support.
Eight minutes from time the sides were level 20-20 and a try by Mark Hill converted by Josh Pentland put the visitors seven points ahead. Gearoid Ryan reduced the deficit with a try four minutes from time but Cahill missed the conversion to level, but he made sure of victory with his third successful penalty attempt.
The sides had been level four times through out the game with Cahill contributing eighteen of his side’s tally with a try, three penalties and two conversions. Peter Malone was their other try scorer.

There was also great excitement at Rosbrien where Old Crescent staved off relegation to the Third Division with a 14-12 win over Lansdowne. A victory that ended the last unbeaten winning streak in the AIB League.
James Cullinane scored a try for the Limerick side and Brian O’Shea kicked three penalties.
This result means that Highfield will be joining Greystones in the Third Division next season.

AIB League Division 1A:
Garryowen 11,Blackrock College 18;
U.L. Bohemian 5,Cork Constitution 35;

Division 2:Bruff 28,Malone 27;
Corinthians 22,Belfast Harlequins 11;
Old Crescent 14,Lansdowne 12;
Terenure College 36,U.C.D. 19;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster squad started their training week on Tuesday ahead of Sunday’s Champions Cup opener against Toulouse at Thomond Park (3.15pm). A bumper crowd will...