DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team Named | Munster A Side To Face Connacht Eagles

21st September 2023 By The Editor

Tony Butler starts at out-half for Munster A.

Tony Butler starts at out-half for Munster A. Inpho

The Munster A side has been named by Head Coach Tommy O’Donnell for Friday afternoon’s behind-closed-doors clash against Connacht in Galway (KO 1pm).

Senior players Keynan Knox and Chris Moore both start with 10 Munster Rugby Academy players involved, including captain Evan O’Connell.

Academy man Ben O’Connor (UCC) starts at full back with James Conroy (Garryowen) and Oisín Pepper (Young Munster) on either wing.

Gordon Wood (Garryowen) and Harry Long (Shannon) continue their centre partnership after lining out in midfield for a Munster Development side last week.

Andrew O’Mahony (UCC) and Academy out-half Tony Butler (Young Munster) start together in the half-backs.

Academy loosehead prop George Hadden (Garryowen) packs down in the front row with Moore and Knox.

Academy duo O’Connell (UL Bohs) and Edwin Edogbo (UCC) start in the second row with Edwin’s brother Seán Edgbo (UCC) in the back row with Academy pair Ruadhán Quinn (Young Munster) and Brian Gleeson (Garryowen).

Adam Wrona (UCC), Ciaran Ryan (Cashel RFC) and Academy prop Darragh McSweeney (Shannon) provide the front row back-up.

Eanna McCarthy, Conor Ryan, Jacob Sheahan (all UCC) and Academy back row Daniel Okeke (Shannon) complete the forward cover.

Academy man Jack Oliver (Garryowen), Cillian O’Connor (Shannon) and Aaron Quirke (UCC) are the backline replacements.

Munster face Barbarians at Thomond Park on Saturday week with tickets available here. Sign up to Access Munster for just €4 here.

Munster A: Ben O’Connor; James Conroy, Harry Long, Gordon Wood, Oisín Pepper; Tony Butler, Andrew O’Mahony; George Hadden, Chris Moore, Keynan Knox; Edwin Edogbo, Evan O’Connell (C); Seán Edogbo, Ruadhán Quinn, Brian Gleeson.

Replacements from: Adam Wrona, Ciaran Ryan, Darragh McSweeney, Eanna McCarthy, Conor Ryan, Jacob Sheahan, Daniel Okeke, Jack Oliver, Cillian O’Connor, Aaron Quirke.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster secured a hard-earned 26-29 bonus-point win against Edinburgh to secure a home quarter-final with one game of the regular season to go. It was...