DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Murray Among Lions Replacements For South Africa Series Decider

3rd August 2021 By The Editor

Conor Murray is among the Lions replacements.

Conor Murray is among the Lions replacements. Inpho

British & Irish Lions Head Coach, Warren Gatland, has made six changes to the starting XV which lost to the Springboks last Saturday in Cape Town.

The defeat sees the Castle Lager Lions Series level at 1-1 going into Saturday’s final Test match (5pm).

Conor Murray is named among the replacements with Munster team-mate Tadhg Beirne missing out on a place in the 23. Damian de Allende starts for South Africa on his 50th international appearance.

The Tour’s leading try-scorer, Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby, Wales), makes his Lions Test debut on the right wing joining Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) who keeps his place on the left. Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales) is added at full back to complete the back three.

Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland) is included at inside centre to win his first Test cap, joining Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) who switches to 13.

Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) is retained at fly-half with Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) starting at scrum half having been named as a replacement last weekend.

In the pack, there are two changes to the front-row with injury-free Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales) taking his place on the loosehead to make his Lions Test debut alongside Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales), who is promoted from the bench to start his first Test of the Tour at hooker. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) continues on the tighthead to win his sixth-successive Test cap.

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales) is named as captain to win his 12th consecutive cap moving him alongside Graham Price (1977 – 1983) and Mike Gibson (1966 – 1974) in the list of most Lions Test appearances. The iconic Welshman is again partnered in the second row by Maro Itoje (Saracens, England).

The back row remains the same with Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England) at blind side flanker, Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England) on the open side and Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) at No. 8.

On the bench, Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales), Finn Russell (Racing 92, Scotland), and Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England) feature for the first time in the Test Series and will all win their first Lions cap should they take the field. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England) is included subject to the outcome of a disciplinary hearing.

“The matchday 23 have an incredibly special opportunity in front of them – to seal a Lions Series victory in South Africa,” said Gatland.

“It doesn’t get much bigger than this and we’re excited by the challenge that faces us on Saturday.

“We’ve no excuses from last week, the Springboks put us under pressure in the second half and deserved the win. We have to be much better than that second half performance, and I believe we will be.”

Saturday’s clash against the reigning World Champions is the final Test match in the 2021 Castle Lager Lions Series and will be shown live and exclusively on Sky Sports.

British & Irish Lions

15 Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales) #833

14 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby, Wales) #836

13 Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #824

12 Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland) #837

11 Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #841

10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) #821

9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) #843

1 Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales) #842

2 Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales) #829

3 Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #818

4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, England) #825

5 Alun Wyn Jones – captain (Ospreys, Wales) #761

6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England) #826

7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England) #853

8 Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #839


16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England) #851

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England) #787

18 *Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England) #814 – subject to outcome of disciplinary hearing.

19 Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales) #852

20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England) #849

21 Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #790

22 Finn Russell (Racing 92, Scotland) #835

23 Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) #822

South Africa

15 Willie le Roux

14 Cheslin Kolbe

13 Lukhanyo Am

12 Damian de Allende

11 Makazole Mapimpi

10 Handre Pollard

9 Cobus Reinach

1 Steven Kitshoff

2 Bongi Mbonambi

3 Frans Malherbe

4 Eben Etzebeth

5 Lood de Jager

6 Siya Kolisi (C)

7 Franco Mostert

8 Jasper Wiese


16 Malcolm Marx

17 Trevor Nyakane

18 Vincent Koch

19 Marco van Staden

20 Kwagga Smith

21 Herschel Jantjies

22 Morne Steyn

23 Damian Willemse

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU