DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland Squad Named to Complete 2020 Guinness Six Nations

8th October 2020 By The Editor

Uncapped Munster man Shane Daly is named in his first Ireland squad.

Uncapped Munster man Shane Daly is named in his first Ireland squad. Inpho

The Ireland Coaching Team have named a 35-player squad to complete the final two rounds of the 2020 Guinness Six Nations Championships.

Eight Munster players, including the uncapped Shane Daly, are named in the 35-man squad with Craig Casey and Fineen Wycherley also set to train with the squad.

23-year-old Daly has been selected after an impressive first season in the senior squad that saw him feature on the wing and full-back, scoring four tries in 14 appearances.

The squad which will be captained by Johnny Sexton contains six uncapped players – Daly, Ryan Baird, Ed Byrne, Will Connors, Hugo Keenan and Jamison Gibson Park.  While Baird and Connors have been involved in national camps before it will be a first time with the national squad for the other uncapped players.

In addition Casey, Wycherley, Harry Byrne, James Lowe and James Tracy will train with the squad next week at IRFU High Performance Centre in Dublin. Ireland take on  Italy at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 24th October before facing France in Paris the following Saturday (31st).

Ireland currently sit fourth on the Six Nations table one point behind Scotland and 4 points behind England and France who have all played an extra game. Back in February Ireland recorded wins over Scotland (19-12) and Wales (24-12) before losing to England (12-24) at Twickenham.

Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell commented, “There has been a huge effort right across Irish Rugby to ensure that the professional game could return safely and that work is greatly appreciated by the national management.  We have protocols in place to safeguard the welfare of the players and staff and are looking forward to completing the Six Nations Championships.

“We have two competitions to play in over the coming months but will focus first on a strong finish to the 6 Nations Championships.   The return to rugby has not been without its challenges as some players have suffered injury setbacks and there has been limited playing opportunities ahead of a busy and exciting international window.

“We will be closely monitoring the form and fitness of players competing in the Guinness PRO14 over the coming weeks.”

Ireland Squad 2020 Guinness 6 Nations Championships Round 4 & 5

Backs (16)

Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 26 caps

Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps

Jack Carty (Connacht/Buccaneers) 10 caps

Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 21 caps

Shane Daly (Munster/Cork Con) uncapped

Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) 9 caps

Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) uncapped

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 43 caps

Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) uncapped

Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 24 caps

Kieran Marmion (Connacht/Corinthians) 27 caps

Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 3 caps

Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 81 caps

Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 29 caps

Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 91 caps CAPTAIN

Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 28 caps

Forwards (19)

Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) uncapped

Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Corinthians) 9 caps

Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 13 caps

Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) uncapped

Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) uncapped

Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 17 caps

Caelan Doris (Leinster/UCD) 2 caps

Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 98 caps

Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 1 cap

Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 55 caps

Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 11 caps

Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 3 caps

Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 67 caps

Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps

Quinn Roux (Connacht/Galwegians) 12 caps

James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps

John Ryan (Munster/Cork Constitution) 21 caps

CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 41 caps

Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps

Training with Squad w/c 12th October

Harry Byrne (Leinster/Lansdowne) uncapped

Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) uncapped

James Lowe (Leinster) uncapped

James Tracy (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps

Fineen Wycherley (Munster/Young Munster) uncapped

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU