DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team Named | Munster A Side To Face Connacht A

18th September 2020 By The Editor

13 Academy players and 13 senior players are named in the 26-man squad.

13 Academy players and 13 senior players are named in the 26-man squad. Inpho

An extended 26-man Munster A squad has been named for Saturday’s Interpro against Connacht A at the Sportsground (2pm).

Watch the live stream provided by Connacht Rugby below.

First half

Second half

The squad is evenly split with 13 Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players and 13 senior players involved.

Hooker Diarmuid Barron, who was promoted from the Academy to the senior squad this summer, captains Munster A.

Nine Academy players are named in the starting XV with Alex Kendellen making his Munster A debut at no.8.

Recent signing Matt Gallagher makes his first start in red at full-back with Seán French and Liam Coombes on either flank.

Jack Crowley and Alex McHenry form the centre partnership with Neil Cronin and Ben Healy in the half-backs.

Josh Wycherley, Barron and Keynan Knox pack down in the front row with Paddy Kelly and Thomas Ahern in the engine room.

Jack Daly, John Hodnett and Kendellen are named in the back row.

Roman Salanoa is among the replacements and in line to make his first appearance in a Munster jersey.

See a full training gallery ahead of the game here.

Former Munster man Conor Oliver captains Connacht A for the clash with Sammy Arnold also starting for the Westerners. See their full tem below.

Munster A: Matt Gallagher; Seán French, Alex McHenry, Jack Crowley, Liam Coombes; Ben Healy, Neil Cronin; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron (C), Keynan Knox; Paddy Kelly, Thomas Ahern; Jack Daly, John Hodnett, Alex Kendellen.

Replacements from: Eoghan Clarke, Scott Buckley, Jeremy Loughman, Roman Salanoa, Gavin Coombes, Jack O’Sullivan, Nick McCarthy, Jake Flannery, Darren Sweetnam, Calvin Nash, Jonathan Wren.

Connacht A: John Porch; Colm de Buitléar, Sammy Arnold, Tom Daly, Diarmuid Kilgallen; Conor Dean, Stephen Kerins; Jordan Duggan, Jonny Murphy, Conor Kenny; Cian Prendergast, Niall Murray; Oisin McCormack, Conor Oliver (C), Seán Masterson.

Replacements from: Dylan Tierney-Martin, Matthew Burke, Jack Aungier, Darragh Murray, Joshua Dunne, Colm Reilly, Cathal Forde, Shane Jennings, Oran McNulty, Peter Sullivan.

Video | Ged McNamara Interview

Hear from Greencore Munster Rugby Academy Lead Athletic Development Coach Ged McNamara on preparations ahead of the game below.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Hear from Munster Head Coach Graham Rowntree and back-row forward Jack O'Sullivan as they spoke to the media on Wednesday ahead of Saturday's clash against...