DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

10 Munster Players In Ireland Squad For Samoa Clash

10th October 2019 By The Editor

CJ Stander starts at no.8 for Ireland.

CJ Stander starts at no.8 for Ireland. Inpho

The Ireland team to play Samoa in the final game of Pool A in Fukuoka has been named with 10 Munster players included in the squad.

Robbie Henshaw returns to the starting line up for the first time since the pre-tournament win over Wales. Henshaw is partnered in the centre by Bundee Aki.

Jonathan Sexton and Conor Murray form a familiar and experienced half back partnership while in the back three Jordan Larmour is at full-back with Keith Earls, who won his 80th cap last time out, and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

Rory Best returns to captain the team and he is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong.

Iain Henderson and James Ryan are again partnered in the second row while the back-row sees CJ Stander at No. 8 with Tadhg Beirne starting on the blindside flank and Josh van der Flier named at openside.

Niall Scannell, David Kilcoyne and Andrew Porter are the replacement front rows while Jean Kleyn and Peter O’Mahony will cover lock and back row.

Joey Carbery is included in the replacements after a late withdrawal against Russia. Luke McGrath and Andrew Conway complete the backline cover.

IRELAND Team & Replacements (v Samoa, 2019 Rugby World Cup Pool A, Fukuoka Hakatanamori Stadium, October 12, kick-off 7.45pm local time/11.45am Irish time):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15 Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 19 caps

14 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 80 caps

13 Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 38 caps

12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 22 caps

11 Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 23 caps

10 Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 86 caps

9 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 76 caps

1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 93 caps

2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 122 caps CAPTAIN

3 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 39 caps

4 Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 51 caps

5 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps

6 Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 11 caps

7 Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps

8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 36 caps


16 Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 18 caps

17 Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 34 caps

18 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps

19 Jean Kleyn (Munster) 4 caps

20 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 62 caps

21 Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps

22 Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 20 caps

23 Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 17 caps

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU