DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Kleyn & Haley To Make Ireland Debuts

8th August 2019 By The Editor

Jean Kleyn starts for Ireland on his international debut.

Jean Kleyn starts for Ireland on his international debut.

Nine Munster players have been named in the Ireland matchday squad for the opening game of the Guinness Series against Italy on Saturday.

Munster’s Jean Kleyn will make his Ireland debut in the second row alongside Devin Toner in a new-look Ireland side captained by Rhys Ruddock.

Ruddock is joined in the back row by Jordi Murphy and Tommy O’Donnell, who won the last of his 12 caps against Scotland in 2016.

Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and Andrew Porter are named in the front row.

Luke McGrath and Joey Carbery fill the half back positions with Chris Farrell and Garry Ringrose named in the centre.

Jordan Larmour is at fullback with Andrew Conway and David Kearney on the wings.

The uncapped Mike Haley is included in the replacements. He is joined by Niall Scannell, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Iain Henderson, Tadhg Beirne, Kieran Marmion and Jack Carty.

The match will be live on RTE and Channel 4.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Italy, Guinness Series 2019, Saturday, August 10, Aviva Stadium, 2pm)


15 Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 13 caps

14 Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 12 caps caps

13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps

12 Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps

11 Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17

10 Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 18 caps

9 Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 10 caps

1 Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 54 caps

2 Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 7 caps

3 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 14 caps

4 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 64 caps

5 Jean Kleyn (Munster) 0 caps

6 Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 21 caps Captain

7 Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps

8 Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 27 caps


16 Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 14 caps

17 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 88 caps

18 John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 18 caps

19 Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 44 caps

20 Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 5 caps

21 Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 25 caps

22 Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps

23 Mike Haley (Munster) 0 caps

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU