DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Seven Munster Players In Ireland Squad For France Clash

8th March 2019 By The Editor

CJ Stander starts against France on Sunday after recovering from a facial injury.

CJ Stander starts against France on Sunday after recovering from a facial injury.

The Ireland team has been named for Sunday’s Guinness Six Nations clash against France at the Aviva Stadium (3pm).

Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander, Conor Murray and Keith Earls start the clash with Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan among the replacements.

Murray and Johnny Sexton are named at half-back with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose filling the midfield berths. Rob Kearney is set to win his 90th cap on Sunday afternoon and he is joined in the backfield by Earls and Jacob Stockdale.

Rory Best captains the side and is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadgh Furlong.

Iain Henderson and James Ryan are partnered in the second row with O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Stander named in the backrow.

The replacements are Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Ryan, Ultan Dillane, Jack Conan, John Cooney, Jack Carty and Jordan Larmour.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v France, Guinness Six Nations Championship, Aviva Stadium, Sunday 10th March, KO 3.00pm)

15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 89 caps

14 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 75 caps

13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 18 caps

12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 15 caps

11 Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 17 caps

10 Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 81 caps (vc)

9 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 70 caps

1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 86 caps

2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 115 caps (c)

3 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 31 caps

4 Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 43 caps

5 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 15 caps

6 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 55 caps (vc)

7 Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 16 caps

8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 29 caps


16 Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 12 caps

17 Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 27 caps

18 John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 17 caps

19 Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 13 caps

20 Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 12 caps

21 John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 7 caps

22 Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 1 cap

23 Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 11 caps

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU