DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Trio Up For Player Of The Year Award

24th January 2019 By The Editor

Peter O

Peter O'Mahony salutes the Munster supporters after the drawn game with Exeter in October.

Munster captain Peter O’Mahony, Tadhg Beirne and Joey Carbery are among the 15 nominees for the prestigious EPCR European Player of the Year award.

Voting for the award is now open here and fans will be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Champions Cup final in Newcastle next May with one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR, and a signed jersey of one of the Champions Cup finalist clubs.

Last season’s winner, Leone Nakarawa is nominated once again along with his Racing 92 team-mates, Finn Russell and former Munster man Simon Zebo, while No 1 ranked, Saracens, have two representatives in Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola following their 100% record in yet another impressive pool stage performance.

Toulouse, who face Racing 92 in an intriguing all-French quarter-final at the end of March, have Antoine Dupont and the livewire, Cheslin Kolbe, in the list, and not surprisingly, Edinburgh Rugby’s, Viliame Mata, is included on the back of several outstanding displays during the pool stage.

Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong and Garry Ringrose are nominated from Champions Cup holders, Leinster Rugby, while Ulster Rugby’s try machine, Jacob Stockdale, also gets the vote of the expert panel of judges.

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.

The list will be reduced to five players in April following the Champions Cup semi-finals by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges, and players who have not been included in initial list of 15, but who make a significant impact in a quarter-final or semi-final match, may be considered for the shortlist.

The voting will then re-open and the winner of the 2019 award will be announced following the Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday, 11 May.

EPCR European Player of the Year award 2019 nominees

Tadhg BEIRNE (Munster Rugby)

Joey CARBERY (Munster Rugby)

Sean CRONIN (Leinster Rugby)

Antoine DUPONT (Toulouse)

Tadhg FURLONG (Leinster Rugby)

Alex GOODE (Saracens)

Cheslin KOLBE (Toulouse)

Viliame MATA (Edinburgh Rugby)

Leone NAKARAWA (Racing 92)

Peter O’MAHONY (Munster Rugby)

Garry RINGROSE (Leinster Rugby)

Finn RUSSELL (Racing 92)

Jacob STOCKDALE (Ulster Rugby)

Mako VUNIPOLA (Saracens)

Simon ZEBO (Racing 92)

Judging Panel: Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Matthieu Lartot (France Télévisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN Sports).

Roll of Honour – 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

At this evening's Rugby Players Ireland awards, Keith Earls was named as the Zurich Contribution to Irish Society Award winner and Craig Casey's try against...