DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

O’Gara ‘Humbled’ By Hall Of Fame Honour

12th September 2018 By The Editor

Hall of Fame inductees Liza Burgess, Bryan Williams, Pierre Villepreux and Ronan O

Hall of Fame inductees Liza Burgess, Bryan Williams, Pierre Villepreux and Ronan O'Gara.

Ronan O’Gara was one of four rugby legends inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame in Rugby, England, today.

O’Gara, Pierre Villepreux, Sir Bryan Williams and Liza Burgess received their honours at the state-of-the-art physical home of the Hall of Fame, which celebrates the inspirational journey of the game from its humble origins to its global present, played by millions of men, women and children.

Former Australia international Stephen Larkham, who was also named as part of the 2018 Hall of Fame honour roll, was inducted last month at a special ceremony held in Sydney on the eve of Australia’s Bledisloe Cup opener with New Zealand, due to his involvement in The Rugby Championship.

Between them the five Hall of Fame inductees have made an incredible 395 international appearances and appeared in 10 Rugby World Cups.

The Hall of Fame recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to the game of rugby throughout their careers, while also demonstrating rugby’s character-building values of integrity, passion, solidarity, discipline and respect.

In a professional playing career that spanned an incredible 17 years, O’Gara became Munster’s most decorated player. Having spent his early years at Cork Constitution and PBC, he won the first of his 240 Munster caps in August 1997. O’Gara steered Munster to Irish Interprovincial, Celtic League, Celtic Cup, Magners League and two Heineken Cup titles in which time he scored a record 2,625 points in red, including 1,365 Heineken Cup points to become the all-time leading points scorer of competition, a feat unlikely to be surpassed.

On the international front the Corkman was capped 128 times by Ireland – where he also remains the leading points scorer of the 6 Nations – toured with the British and Irish Lions on three occasions, and will be forever remembered for his sublime last minute drop-goal against Wales, securing Ireland’s first Grand Slam victory in 61 years.

World Rugby Vice-Chairman Agustin Pichot, who attended the induction ceremony, said: “Being inducted to the World Rugby Hall of Fame is a very special moment in any players career and all of today’s inductees should be very proud of this achievement.

“Rugby is a sport with special values of which today’s inductees have embodied throughout their careers, both on and off the pitch. On behalf of World Rugby and the rugby family, thank you for your enormous contributions to the sport.”

Former Ireland international O’Gara said: “It’s hugely humbling to be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame. To end up here today, it’s a great day for me and my family, but also you think of your primary school, secondary school, Munster, Ireland, British and Irish Lions, Racing, Crusaders, a lot of people have helped me get here.

“I’m smart enough to realise I play a team sport and it’s an awesome pack of forwards that made me look good, so I will be thinking about those boys today and especially one or two guys who aren’t still with us.”

The five latest inductees bring the total in the Hall of Fame to 142 since it began in 2006.

World Rugby Hall of Fame 2018 inductees

Stephen Larkham (Australia), Inductee No.138

Ronan O’Gara (Ireland), Inductee No.139

Pierre Villepreux (France), Inductee No.140

Bryan Williams (New Zealand), Inductee No.141

Liza Burgess (Wales), Inductee No.142


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for our URC semi-final against Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park on Saturday (6pm). Over 19,000 tickets have already been...