DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Six Munster Men Start For Ireland In Second Test

14th June 2018 By The Editor

Six Munster Men Start For Ireland In Second Test

Andrew Conway has been drafted into the Ireland side on the wing.

The Ireland team to play Australia in the second test at AAMI Stadium in Melbourne on Saturday has been named.

Six Munster men start the clash as winger Andrew Conway and hooker Niall Scannell are both drafted into the side to join Keith Earls, Conor Murray, captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander.

Cian Healy is set to win his 80th cap on Saturday as he returns to the starting XV. He is named in a new look front row alongside Scannell and Tadhg Furlong.

In the second row Devin Toner starts alongside James Ryan.

Dan Leavy is the final change in the pack as he is named at openside with captain O’Mahony and Stander completing the back row,

Johnny Sexton comes back into the side alongside Murray while Robbie Henshaw moves to first centre with Garry Ringrose starting at 13.

Rob Kearney is at fullback with Conway on the right wing and Earls on the left.

Tadhg Beirne is set to make his Ireland debut from the bench while John Cooney, who won his first cap against Japan this time last year, is also named in the replacements.

Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour complete the lineup.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Australia, AAMI Stadium, Melbourne, Saturday June 16, kick off 8.05pm / 11.05 am Irish time)

15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 84 caps

14 Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 6 caps

13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 13 caps

12 Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 34 caps

11 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 68 caps

10 Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 74 caps

9 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 65 caps

1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 79 caps

2 Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 7 caps

3 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 24 caps

4 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 9 caps

5 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 58 caps

6 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 48 caps (Captain)

7 Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 9 caps

8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 24 caps


16 Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 4 caps

17 Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 48 caps

18 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps

19 Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets) uncapped

20 Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 21 caps

21 John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 1 cap

22 Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 11 caps

23 Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 4 caps

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU