DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Video | Greencore Munster Rugby Academy Feature

8th May 2018 By The Editor

Elite Player Development Manager Peter Malone

Elite Player Development Manager Peter Malone INPHO/Tommy Dickson

This week we take an in-depth look at the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy, and each day will feature content on the different aspects of the academy programme.

Three academy players have already been confirmed for the senior ranks next season, Calvin Nash, Liam O’Connor, and Academy Player of the Year Fineen Wycherley, while Joey Conway, Conor Fitzgerald, John Foley, Daniel Hurley, Vincent O’Brien, Rob O’Donovan and Jack Power have been released from the programme.

With the continuing cycle of players coming and going each season, Elite Player Development Manager Peter Malone is in the process of identifying the academy intake ahead of the 2018-19 season.

2018/19 Greencore Munster Rugby Academy

Promoted: Calvin Nash (Centre/Wing/Young Munster) from year 2, Liam O’Connor (Prop/Cork Con) from year 3, Fineen Wycherley (Lock/Young Munster) from year 2.

Year 3: Gavin Coombes (Backrow/Young Munster), Shane Daly (Centre/Cork Con), Sean O’Connor (Lock/Garryowen).

Year 2: Craig Casey (Scrumhalf/Shannon), Liam Coombes (Back three/Garryowen), Keynon Knox (Prop/UL Bohs), James McCarthy (Fullback/UL Bohs), Alex McHenry (Centre/Cork Con), Matt More (Centre/Garryowen), Jack O’Sullivan (Back row/UCC), Jack Stafford (Scrumhalf/Shannon), Alan Tynan (Outhalf/Young Munster).

Year 1: TBC


First up, in a two-part video series, we chat to Elite Player Development Manager Peter Malone.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster fell to a defeat in round 4 of the BKT United Rugby Championship at the Sportsground on Friday night. Academy back three player Patrick...