DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Squad Update Pre-Leinster

21st December 2017 By The Editor

Squad Update Pre-Leinster

Peter O’Mahony could make his 100th appearance for Munster against Leinster

While Munster players involved in the November internationals attended a two-day Irish camp earlier in the week, the remaining players took advantage of a welcome nine-day turnaround to recover before the Leinster game in Thomond Park on St Stephen’s Day.

The Leinster clash is now sold out with full details here.

New Defence Coach JP Ferreira has arrived in Ireland ahead of the game.

If selected, Munster captain Peter O’Mahony will make his 100th appearance for the province against Leinster while CJ Stander may also feature having signed a new three-year contract this week. Full details.

The Munster team to face Leinster will be named on Saturday, December 23.

The squad will return to the High Performance Centre tomorrow to commence training for the festive derby clash where the medical team will further assess Andrew Conway (RTPP), Rhys Marshall (RTPP) and James Cronin (calf) before making a decision on their involvement in training.

For now, the medical department issued the following update:

Academy back row Gavin Coombes is following return to play protocols after sustaining a concussion in Saturday’s B&I Cup victory over Bedford Blues.

On a positive note, Niall Scannell (thumb) reported no ill effects following his return to action on Sunday in the Champions Cup, however, Dave Kilcoyne and Alex Wootton are both being assessed for a respective dead leg and elbow injury sustained during the same encounter.

Continuing to rehab: Tyler Bleyendaal (neck), Ronan O’Mahony (fibula), Gerbrandt Grobler (ankle), Conor Oliver (shoulder), Dan Goggin (knee), Dave O’Callaghan (knee), Jaco Taute (knee), Chris Farrell (knee).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for Friday night's BKT URC Round 11 clash against Zebre at Virgin Media Park (7.35pm). Buy €20 match tickets...