DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Eight Munster Men In Ireland Squad

23rd November 2017 By The Editor

Eight Munster Men In Ireland Squad

Peter O’Mahony starts for Ireland against Argentina

The Ireland coaching group have named their final match day squad of the 2017 Guinness Series as Ireland take on Argentina at the Aviva Stadium. There is one new cap in the starting XV.

Munster’s Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander, Conor Murray and Chris Farrell start with Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Ian Keatley and Andrew Conway among the replacements.

Farrell, who made his debut last week, is paired in the centre with Bundee Aki, who got his first start against South Africa in the opneing game of the Guinness Series.

Leinster’s Adam Byrne will win his first cap for Ireland on the right wing on Saturday with Rob Kearney at fullback and Jacob Stockdale alongside him in the back three.

Jonathan Sexton and Murray resume their partnership in the half backs.

Rory Best returns to captain the team and is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong while James Ryan starts in the second row with Iain Henderson.

O’Mahony, Sean O’Brien and Stander return to the backrow.

The replacements are James Tracy, Kilcoyne, Ryan, Devin Toner, Rhys Ruddock, Luke McGrath, Keatley and Conway.

Ireland team & replacements (v Argentina, Guinness Series 2017, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, November 25th, 5.30pm)

15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 77 caps

14 Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)*

13 Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 1 cap

12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 1 cap

11 Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3 caps

10 Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 67 caps

9 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 58 caps

1Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 72 caps

2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 105 caps Captain

3 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 18 caps

4 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 3 caps

5 Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 33 caps

6 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 41 caps

7 Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 50 caps

8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 17 caps


16 James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps

17 Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 21 caps

18 John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 10 caps

19 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 52 caps

20 Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 18 caps

21 Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps

22 Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 6 caps

23 Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 5 caps

*Denotes uncapped player

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU